Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Good recipe to work with! Cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup. This ones going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this sauce tonight for my family. My husband always says that my spaghetti sauce is missing something and he isn't sure what...until I made this sauce! He tasted it and said that all it needed now was pasta! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I did use only 1/4 c. sugar; minced garlic; fresh oregano; and instead of the tomato sauce, I used a 28oz can of 'chunky crushed tomatos w/ basic, garlic and oregano plus one small can of plain tomato sauce and the tomato paste and a vermouth cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Excellent! Love it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Loved it. I didn't have some things, so I improvised. Used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I didn't have green pepper,so I left it out. I took the advice of other reviews and cut the sugar down. I added two tablespoons at a time, and it tasted right after about 6 tablespoons of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This is a FANTASTIC spaghetti sauce. The wine is a great touch-- I actually used red wine. It's sweet but with an interesting bite of spicy. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Yummy! I only added 1/2 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet, but my family and I really liked it, even my picky kids. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Awesome recipe! Family loved it. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 cup of sugar. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This was the best sauce recipe I've found! Thanks so much. My home-from-college daughter gave it rave reviews. The only changes I made were marjoram instead of oregano, marjoram is sweeter and milder than oregano which can be overpowering. I also used a little less sugar but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Me and my girlfriend made this spaghetti recipe about 5 times now. And we're still going to keep making it. It is delicious and easy. I do agree with other users about lowering the sugar of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was great! After reading the reviews, I followed the recipe, with the exception of the sugar. I found that 2 tablespoons of sugar was enough. I have to add that even my kids liked this sauce, and that is a first! They hate spaghetti sauces as a rule. Thank you, Pam, for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States