Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Loved it. I didn't have some things, so I improvised. Used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I didn't have green pepper,so I left it out. I took the advice of other reviews and cut the sugar down. I added two tablespoons at a time, and it tasted right after about 6 tablespoons of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Followed recommendations and cut the sugar (1/2 cup), but it was still too sweet. Also, I used fresh garlic because it's much more flavorful than the powder. Might try this recipe again, but I'll add 2 TBS of sugar, wait 10 minutes and taste. Then I'll add 1 TBS of sugar and repeat till it tastes "just right".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this sauce tonight for my family. My husband always says that my spaghetti sauce is missing something and he isn't sure what...until I made this sauce! He tasted it and said that all it needed now was pasta! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I did use only 1/4 c. sugar; minced garlic; fresh oregano; and instead of the tomato sauce, I used a 28oz can of 'chunky crushed tomatos w/ basic, garlic and oregano plus one small can of plain tomato sauce and the tomato paste and a vermouth cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This sauce was wonderful - I don't get the other reviews - why would you comment that the sauce was too sweet when the recipe is called Mom's SWEET Spaghetti Sauce - sheesh - this is terrific just the way it is - thanks Langston28
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a good one...I used any left over wine.. Instead of just oregano I used Italian seasoning. Added 1 tbsp minced garlic. Decreased the sugar to 1/4 of a cup. And used 1/2 lb Italian sausauge instead of the bacon..I have been making this for years...Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ ~ ~Shea~ ~ ~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Love it, sugar amount was perfect, that is why it is called "Sweet" spaghetti. Sweet spaghetti has been in our family for many years, we use 2lbs beef and 1 cut of sugar --- hummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was a great recipe, although I had to reduce the sugar to 2 Tbsp. I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the canned ones and added two tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this sauce, although i would say add sugar to taste. I think a 1/4 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
For someone who fail to cook decent bland spaghetti. THIS ONE IS A WINNER!!! Everyone love the recipes I felt like a chef!!! ;-) This recipes is a good and I didn't follow the recipes but I kept adding recommended seasoning and sugar to taste!! :-) I also add sausage to it as well!! WONDEFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My kids gave this "thumbs-up"! I was a little leary of the 3/4 cup of sugar and went a little shy of that, but when I make it next time I'll use the full amount. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of jarred. We are definitely keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States