Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Excellent! Love it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was a great recipe, although I had to reduce the sugar to 2 Tbsp. I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the canned ones and added two tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This is a FANTASTIC spaghetti sauce. The wine is a great touch-- I actually used red wine. It's sweet but with an interesting bite of spicy. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Yummy! I only added 1/2 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet, but my family and I really liked it, even my picky kids. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Awesome recipe! Family loved it. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 cup of sugar. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This was the best sauce recipe I've found! Thanks so much. My home-from-college daughter gave it rave reviews. The only changes I made were marjoram instead of oregano, marjoram is sweeter and milder than oregano which can be overpowering. I also used a little less sugar but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
WAY TOO SWEET!!! I would have given this 3.5 stars but that wasn't an option. I wish that I followed what the other reviewers has said about the sugar, but I didn't. I am all for having a sweeter spaghetti sauce, I love anything sweet! But this was ridiculously sweet. I think I have a cavity now! Next time I will only add maybe 1/4 cup instead. I also added 1 can of drained diced tomatoes, to add more texture. This was a great starter recipe, but in need of changes for my taste! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was good but I like sweet sauces. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 3/4 and found that it was still very sweet but not too overpowering. While this was good, I probably would not be in a rush to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Loved it. I didn't have some things, so I improvised. Used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I didn't have green pepper,so I left it out. I took the advice of other reviews and cut the sugar down. I added two tablespoons at a time, and it tasted right after about 6 tablespoons of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
With a little less sugar, this could be a better recipe. The sugar overpowered the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States