Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Excellent! Love it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was a great recipe, although I had to reduce the sugar to 2 Tbsp. I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the canned ones and added two tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This is a FANTASTIC spaghetti sauce. The wine is a great touch-- I actually used red wine. It's sweet but with an interesting bite of spicy. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Yummy! I only added 1/2 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet, but my family and I really liked it, even my picky kids. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Awesome recipe! Family loved it. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 cup of sugar. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This was the best sauce recipe I've found! Thanks so much. My home-from-college daughter gave it rave reviews. The only changes I made were marjoram instead of oregano, marjoram is sweeter and milder than oregano which can be overpowering. I also used a little less sugar but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
WAY TOO SWEET!!! I would have given this 3.5 stars but that wasn't an option. I wish that I followed what the other reviewers has said about the sugar, but I didn't. I am all for having a sweeter spaghetti sauce, I love anything sweet! But this was ridiculously sweet. I think I have a cavity now! Next time I will only add maybe 1/4 cup instead. I also added 1 can of drained diced tomatoes, to add more texture. This was a great starter recipe, but in need of changes for my taste! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was good but I like sweet sauces. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 3/4 and found that it was still very sweet but not too overpowering. While this was good, I probably would not be in a rush to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Loved it. I didn't have some things, so I improvised. Used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I didn't have green pepper,so I left it out. I took the advice of other reviews and cut the sugar down. I added two tablespoons at a time, and it tasted right after about 6 tablespoons of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
With a little less sugar, this could be a better recipe. The sugar overpowered the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake Rutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States