Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacklyn Brady
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried it for the first time tonight and everyone loved it. However, I did modify it a bit. I did not put the bacon drippings in because the thought just bothered me. I also used half the amount of white wine (1/4 cup) and I used about 3 to 4 tablespoons of sugar (our family does not like really sweet food) and it came to the perfect amount of sweetness. I also used fresh garlic and fresh mushrooms as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacklyn Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this sauce, although i would say add sugar to taste. I think a 1/4 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
For someone who fail to cook decent bland spaghetti. THIS ONE IS A WINNER!!! Everyone love the recipes I felt like a chef!!! ;-) This recipes is a good and I didn't follow the recipes but I kept adding recommended seasoning and sugar to taste!! :-) I also add sausage to it as well!! WONDEFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added fresh garlic and fresh mushrooms instead of the garlic powder and mushrooms in a jar. It was tasty but much too sweet for us. I do want to make it again but I will cut back on the sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelB1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This sauce was wonderful - I don't get the other reviews - why would you comment that the sauce was too sweet when the recipe is called Mom's SWEET Spaghetti Sauce - sheesh - this is terrific just the way it is - thanks Langston28
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My kids gave this "thumbs-up"! I was a little leary of the 3/4 cup of sugar and went a little shy of that, but when I make it next time I'll use the full amount. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of jarred. We are definitely keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
THIS is similar to the sauce I MAke, but,,,I brown prok neckbones and Itilian sausage and cook in the sauce then toward the end I put in a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and 1/2 stick of butter. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
even the small amount of cinnamon called for was to much! Next time i will eliminate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a good one...I used any left over wine.. Instead of just oregano I used Italian seasoning. Added 1 tbsp minced garlic. Decreased the sugar to 1/4 of a cup. And used 1/2 lb Italian sausauge instead of the bacon..I have been making this for years...Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ ~ ~Shea~ ~ ~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Cut down on sugar, added 1 tsp basil, removed bacon/pepper/salt, and it still tasted awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States