Mom's Sweet Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacklyn Brady
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried it for the first time tonight and everyone loved it. However, I did modify it a bit. I did not put the bacon drippings in because the thought just bothered me. I also used half the amount of white wine (1/4 cup) and I used about 3 to 4 tablespoons of sugar (our family does not like really sweet food) and it came to the perfect amount of sweetness. I also used fresh garlic and fresh mushrooms as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacklyn Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this sauce, although i would say add sugar to taste. I think a 1/4 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
For someone who fail to cook decent bland spaghetti. THIS ONE IS A WINNER!!! Everyone love the recipes I felt like a chef!!! ;-) This recipes is a good and I didn't follow the recipes but I kept adding recommended seasoning and sugar to taste!! :-) I also add sausage to it as well!! WONDEFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added fresh garlic and fresh mushrooms instead of the garlic powder and mushrooms in a jar. It was tasty but much too sweet for us. I do want to make it again but I will cut back on the sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelB1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This sauce was wonderful - I don't get the other reviews - why would you comment that the sauce was too sweet when the recipe is called Mom's SWEET Spaghetti Sauce - sheesh - this is terrific just the way it is - thanks Langston28
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My kids gave this "thumbs-up"! I was a little leary of the 3/4 cup of sugar and went a little shy of that, but when I make it next time I'll use the full amount. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of jarred. We are definitely keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
THIS is similar to the sauce I MAke, but,,,I brown prok neckbones and Itilian sausage and cook in the sauce then toward the end I put in a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and 1/2 stick of butter. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
even the small amount of cinnamon called for was to much! Next time i will eliminate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a good one...I used any left over wine.. Instead of just oregano I used Italian seasoning. Added 1 tbsp minced garlic. Decreased the sugar to 1/4 of a cup. And used 1/2 lb Italian sausauge instead of the bacon..I have been making this for years...Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ ~ ~Shea~ ~ ~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Cut down on sugar, added 1 tsp basil, removed bacon/pepper/salt, and it still tasted awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States