Mom's Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The rice turned out absolutely perfect for the sushi I made. My family and I loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the perfect receipe that I have been seeking. I also didn't have the kelp but I do not need to be that authentic. :) This was easy and perfect. The extras steps in technique make a huge difference. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought the 3 cups was only for rinsing the rice, because it just barely covers the rice in the saucepan. It doesn't say in the written instructions how much water to add to the rice, and because I knew it would be 5 cups yield, I filled my regular saucepan up to the top with water. Well, I wasted nearly half a bag of rice. It's is so gluggy and disgusting. Too much water. It would be great if the recipe could be altered to say, "then place into a saucepan along with the konbu and 3 CUPS of water" if this is the case and you only need 3 cups. As someone who has never made sushi rice before, I have absolutely no idea if this is what you do so any help would be very much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elysian27
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This rice is perfect! I used this to make sushi at home for the first time last night. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I was looking for something to make with hawaiian pulled pork and found this recipe. It's amazing! I didn't have sushi rice, so I made it with another short grain starchy rice and it turned out perfectly. I also didn't make it with the konbu, but it turned out just like the sticky rice I've had in so many hawaiian restaurants. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
There are lots of different kinds of rice vinegar. Seasoned rice vinegar has sugar or corn syrup added. The vinegar I bought in the Asian food section of the store has no added sugar. Before you add the sugar called for in this recipe read the ingredient label to see if it has sugar. If it does you need to reduce or omit the sugar or your rice will be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Fantastic sticky rice! Just like the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forestfables

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
If you're new to the world of making sushi rice, this is an awesome 1st time recipe! I didn't have any kelp but my I followed the recipe to a T. Makes a great side dish for Baked Teryaki Chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent base recipe for sushi rice. I'd recommend making it exactly per the original directions first, then tweak future preparations based on your own taste. Personally, I found it to be slightly too sweet and vinegary for use in sushi rolls (although perfect if you're just craving the rice alone), and have reduced both the rice vinegar and sugar by 1.5 tablespoons, with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zesty Zaftig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe was absolutely perfect - I unfortunately didn't have the konbu, but will attempt to get some for next time. The vinegar/sugar/salt ratio was just perfect though; flavoured the rice without overwhelming it, and gave it the ideal texture for sushi. To facilitate the sugar dissolving I just microwaved my mixture for 20 seconds at a time, stirring, until it was uniformly incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States