Mom's Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have made rice from other recipes but this is the easiest and best tasting for sure. Not too vinagery or sweet and perfectly sticky. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Thanks for sharing! Rice seems easy to make at first, but there are so many differences among rice-cooking cultures. This recipe really helped my sushi-making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Sandal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
THIS WAS AWESOME RICE!!!! We couldnt stop eating it! We made sushi rolls with it and it was sticky perfect! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Now, THIS is a GREAT recipe for sushi rice. It even includes the bit about fanning the rice (which, when I was little, my auntie assured me was VERY important). Of course, we used actual hand fans, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Awesome sushi rice recipe! I cooled mine in the fan to make it extra shiny. Be careful as this makes a lot of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Perfect in every way! Wonderful flavor, and great texture. My kids participated by fanning the rice for me as I stirred in the vinegar mixture. They thought it was "the best rice ever!" We will definitely use this recipe every time we make sushi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My son is very picky about his rice, but he just loves this. I made this for him and a bunch of his friends before a football game and they all raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I have been making nori maki (rolled sushi) for 20 years, but this is the best sushi rice recipe yet. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This rice was so good even by itself! But I did make sushi rolls with it tonight and it was fab! No need to go out for sushi anymore... Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
It is an understatement to say that I'm TERRIBLE at making rice. I always burn the bottom of the pan even when I'm following package directions. I even burnt rice the one time I tried using a rice cooker. I followed this recipe exactly, minus the kelp. It turned out amazing!!! The rice was perfectly cooked and slid right out of the pan into the bowl. These extra steps are somewhat time consuming but so worth it. I bought a rice rinser at a Chinese store and it made washing the rice totally easy. Delicious on its own or perfect for sushi. I will ONLY make this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States