Mom's Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I´ve only once made sushi rice before and they turned out to be all mushy and just not that tasty. This recipe however is perfect! The rice turned out to be just like the ones they use in the restaurants! (Also after youtubing how to make sushi rice, that helped a lot! Hhahaha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was great. I decided to give sushi making a try for my hubby's birthday tonight and it turned out awesome. Spicy tuna, philly and cali rolls :) yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I used the proportions of rice, water, and seasonings called for and the finished rice was delicious. I did have to heat the vinegar mixture in the microwave for a few seconds to get the sugar to dissolve completely. I also must have cooked the rice at too low a temperature as I had to give it a few extra minutes on the stove before it seemed all done. Add about 2 Tbl toasted sesame seeds to really make this pop. Great recipe. A half batch is perfect for two people, as it makes six rolls; however, it's best if we do a full recipe (2.25 cups raw rice) because we might want to make more rolls, bigger rolls, or have leftover to make inari. After several experiments, our favorite vegetarian filling is avocado with generous panko and sriracha. Yum! Note: one time a friend tried to do this in a large cast-iron pot, and she burned the rice. Either it was the pot or she wasn't paying attention and let it boil too long... but I'd steer clear of iron pots for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
It was okay, a little too sticky and went hard really fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I did not have any konbu dried kelp however I decided to give it a try anyway. This recipe is great except that to our taste it had too much vinegar. Otherwise, the rice came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Babin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This turned out too sticky and not very easy to work with. It was good however cause we ate it all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkford, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made according to directions minus the konbu dried kelp and it turned out fabulous. The secret is to follow the instructions carefully-let the rice sit/dry completely etc. (do not mess with it too much) ALSO: When adding the rice vinegar mixture do not mix it in but kneed with very few strokes just until combined so the rice grains keep their integrity and do not become soft and paste like. I highly recommend this recipe...thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miso Sushi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Awesome! I just made a meal out if it tonight. I'm a college student and things like this are fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Thanks for the recipe. It was great and perfect for sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Awesome. I used this for crab nigirizushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States