Mom's Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I can't imagine any japanese restaurant using this recipe. After seeing the post stating it might take more than 3-4 rinses, I tried to rinse until clear. 45 minutes of countless washing and wrinkled raw hands were not enough to make the water clear. I gave up and just continued with the recipe. There was also too much sugar. The rice became very sweet. I love sushi, but I don't think I will be following this recipe again. It's just too painful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This makes fantastic "sticky" rice. I cut back on the sugar and vinegar a little bit to suit taste and omitted the kelp. This is exactly what I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
We just came back from living in Japan and I was craving sushi. I made this today and it was very good! I did not have the kelp but it worked out very well without it. I will use this recipe again next time I have another craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
A+, I will always use this recipe for my sushi rolls! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
wonderful no fail recipe! I was all out of white sugar so I used brown, which left a little more bite than white sugar did, but still fabulous. Will update when I attempt it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Be careful when rinsing the rice if you don't have a strainer to use, that rice is sneaky! Otherwise, it is just dandy! it's sticky, it's tasty, it'll suit my purposes. This is my first attempt ever at sushi rice so I made it to be the side for my Korean BBQ, which was a great plan, with steamed mixed veggies, it was perfect. I halved the recipe and there's a TON left over. apparently, if you wrap warm rice in plastic wrap, then bag it you can freeze it and it'll be just dandy the next day (or week). Wonderful recipe. I'm making Inari with this next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Perfect sushi rice!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Deskins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe worked great! It was my first time making sushi and it came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I love this in sushi or simply by itself. Easy to make also. * may take more than 3-4 washes for rice water to turn up clear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have the kelp so I omitted it. I served it warm as a side dish with sesame seared tuna. This will definitely be my new side dish for asian meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States