Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Fabulous! Best meal I've had in a long time. I used too much water for some reason, but it still turned out wonderful. No joke, this was really really good. I'll make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
We had these ribs last nite and were in heaven! They were very easy to prepare. I may have put a little too much water because it took an hour for the water to evaporate. I didn't have cilantro so I substituted parsley, oh.. and used low sodium soy sauce. An excellent recipe that will definately be served again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I hate to sound stupid, but this recipe calls for 10 pork spare ribs, which normally come in slabs. I haven't tried it because I am not sure what measurement the author is referring to. Is it 10# of ribs (too much for 6 servings),or 10 individual ribs (not enough for 6 servings). Please claify, as the recipe does sound good, and I'd love to try it. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I'm going to make these tonight! To answer the question (dated 7/29/05), I believe the recipe uses "Country Style Pork Ribs Loin Rib-End" - that's what they're called at my local grocery store (Bethel Food in Connecticut). They are thicker and meatier, have a small bone and come approx 4-5 per package. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Absolutely fantatic! I used the country style ribs. I also had trouble with the amount of water-took almost one hour to cook. They were tender and full of flavor. I also made fried potatoes with cilantro and garlic. My kids gobbled this up, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This recipe turned out salty for me. I wouldn't make it again. I must not have added enough water. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Delicious! I would have never thought to boil ribs! I was afraid to try it but I'm so glad that I did! I didn't have soy and I didn't add as much sugar/flour and it still was still mouthwatering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaRita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I thought this was an okay recipe - maybe because I actually like salty food. If you don't, then I suggest that you cut down on the amount of soy sauce you use. I used La Choy lite soy sauce and still it was a bit too salty - even for my tastes. My ribs did come out very tender, but they did not have enough flavor for me to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Sorry..we did not like this recipe at all.....way too salty!!! Anyone thinking of trying this recipe should use low-sodium soy sauce.I liked the flavor of the rosemary-but I have definitly used better rib recipes...Will not try this again--sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Too salty even though I used low sodium soy sauce. I do like the idea of boiling the ribs but next time I will use something besides soy sauce or use way less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barilla® Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States