Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First, this is a quick and foolproof way to cook ribs, even on a work night. I tried this recipe last night and got mixed reviews. My wife and I both liked them, but I was a bit overwhelmed by the salt! The ribs were tender, moist, and tasted good, but again, the taste was overwhelmed by the soy sauce. I will try again, and seek some way to instill flavor without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your recipe. I used fresh herbs, Bragg's (less sodium) soy sauce and followed the directions. I also used boneless pork ribs. The best thing about this recipe is the technique. No wonder the flavor is so intense and the pork so tender. It just works.... That sear I got on the pork at the very end? Put this dish right over the top. W.O.W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These were so delicious! This Texas family gobbled up everything on their plates. We had guests over for dinner and they raved about how wonderful everything came out. Evidence was empty plates even after serving hefty portions. I will definitely make this again. Like other readers, I used country style pork ribs. I put the entire package about 7 pounds into a roaster, cooking atop my gas stove top, every 15 mins I would switch the roaster around the burners to create a more evenly distributed "roast". It did take a lot longer than 25 mins, but I had quite a bit to cook about 2.5 hours. It was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was an excellent recipe, thank you. I don't have a natural talent for cooking so I deeply appreciate this website and wonderful dishes I'm able to make. My only comment is that it takes longer than 25 minutes for the water to totally evaporate but the ribs are so flavorful you know it's well worth it! This is one of my faves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Didi Tomate

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These were soooooo bland and the ribs were still raw after over an hour simmering..yuk..will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. To begin with the seasonings over power this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My ribs came out dry, but the flavor was good. There was too much water to evaporate. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Cloud
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Outstanding. It tastes like I spent hours cooking. Thank mom for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this with 6 Country Style ribs. It took much longer than 25 minutes for the water to boil away (over an hour), although it's possible I was a bit to liberal in my interpretation of "just covered with water". It was definitely worth the wait however, as the meat was very flavorful and moist - very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carbone
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow. Let me start by saying that I have never made ribs before, but when I received this recipe in my inbox, I had to make it. Baby back ribs were on sale at my grocery store - so that's what I used. The only adjustments I made to the recipe were to add some Cherry Coke Zero to the water at the beginning to add some extra flavor, used fresh rosemary instead of dried and only used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/2 cup based on the reviews. I love salt, but I'll probably only use 1/4 cup next time. Final cooking time was 2 1/2 hours. LET THEM BOIL DOWN. Do not drain the liquid. I used a deep 14 inch round pan and barely covered the top of the ribs with liquid. I was worried I was going to overcook the meat by letting them boil for so long, but they were delicious. I used fresh parsley and some extra lime juice at the end. So, so, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carbone

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States