Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
OMG, followed the recipe exactly, sort of. Didn't have limes, will try next time. Used country spare ribs, didn't chop up the parsley, didn't know if I should, used the whole 10 sprigs, forgot to only use 3/4 of them so had none for the end, which didn't seem to matter. My husband who is a big traditional country boy, loves his ribs and barbecue, absolutely thought it was the best thing he's ever eaten. Even though he hates rosemary and with an entire tablespoon I really thought he would hate this. But he loved it. The aroma as it was all boiling was awesome. Now I have to say, it took forever for the liquid to boil down but it was worth waiting for. I kept scaping and turning the meat at the end to help it all dry out. I would also like to add that they were very salty and I used low sodium soy sauce, but other that that they were so good but definitely not low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Simple and good. Easy for us married over worked families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Upper Verlot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very flavorful. We enjoyed them but they were much more dry than I would have guessed. However, we've had the same country ribs prepared several different ways and they would sometimes come out dry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Tried it with cut up pork roast and it was delicious. I was afraid it would be dry so after browning the meat I added some water and corn starch to make a sauce. With some added salt it was fine but it would have been fine without the sauce, meat was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
fixed ribs today and really liked them. my mother would always boil ribs years ago, however because pork was much more fatty then than what is now was the reason for boiling.liked the idea of seasoning while boiling the ribs. good reciepe, i think you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was nervous cooking this recipe since my son loves BBQ ribs and normally doesn't like anything that seems "different" from that. Boiling ribs is something I've never done. So, I had a big pot, probably put too many ribs in but it started boiling down and all of a sudden my son is there saying "what smells so good?!" When it finally boiled down where we could eat them (it did take a very long time), I was still nervous...rosemary and lime instead of BBQ. Then we tasted them. We loved them! Add our thanks to your mom for this delicious way to cook ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not sure what went wrong. Tried it with just over 3 lbs of baby back ribs. Filled pot so that ribs were just covered with water. Added soy sauce, garlic, rosemary, oregano parsley per recipe. Brought to a boil, reduced heat. Bubbled away for about 40 minutes. Still had more than 1/4 inch of water and no sign of browning. Meat was done, but result was bland. Anybody else have a similar result?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Botnen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fantastic! Had to cook them for 2 hrs on simmer, but worth the wait! Good thing I used low sodium soy sauce, as it was a bit salty. However, I don't normally cook with lots of salt, so I'm not a good judge of saltiness. The lime gave it a tiny zip! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
After 2 1/2 hours, there was still soooo much liquid left in the pan, and the ribs were just boiled lumps of meat. My husband took the meat and a bit of the liquid and cooked it in the pressure cooker for 20 minutes, while cooking down the remaining liquid. It was more like pulled pork at this point, but absolutely delicious. I did use half the soy sauce called for but also added some amino acids, which added a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First, this is a quick and foolproof way to cook ribs, even on a work night. I tried this recipe last night and got mixed reviews. My wife and I both liked them, but I was a bit overwhelmed by the salt! The ribs were tender, moist, and tasted good, but again, the taste was overwhelmed by the soy sauce. I will try again, and seek some way to instill flavor without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States