Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It just so happened we had taken a rack ribs out from the freezer when I received this recipe in my email. We picked up the few ingredients we didn't have from the store and made these today. First, I have to say that I didn't expect what this recipe delivered. It was amazing how the ingredients infused into the ribs. The rendering of the meats fat turned into liquid gold when the water evaported, and the meat browned in it. We used a deep chicken frying pan and it worked well. It was large enough to easily brown all the ribs evenly, yet deep enough to place enough water into it to cook them through. We cooked ours about an hour before all the water was gone, and it was perfect. I agree with many of the other reviewers here, the recipes calling for 1/2 of soy sauce is waaay to much sodium flavoring. I do recommend only using half that much, other than that, rock this recipe with whatever your choice of herbs and spices, and for heavens sake, don't skip the browning of the meat in the left over gold that the meat has released, it is really the final touch to this recipe being a grand success. I can't wait to try this recipe with chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Photo by amyf2010
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These are by far the best ribs I've ever had. The sauce that's created when the water is boiled down is amazing! I deglazed the pan after browning the ribs (I used red cooking wine, but you could use stock or any other liquid) then put the ribs back in and mixed with the sauce. It also took much longer than 25 minutes to boil the liquid off, but that could be the size pot I used. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by golddigge

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is delicious! The flavor is excellent. The result looked more stew like than the picture, so be prepared. The cooking time is more like 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I would recommend boiling the ribs in beer with the seasonings rather than water. You will be amazed at the added taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vbbryant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
COOK THIS RECIPE TODAY......OH MY GOD THE AROMAS.....TOOK LONGER TO GET ALL THE WATER OUT BUT WORTH WAIT. THE TASTE WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD. MY RIBS WERE VERY TENDER. I DON'T CARER TOO MUCH FOR CILANTRO SO I USED THE PARSLEY. AFTER THEY WERE DONE I PUT THEM ON THE GRILL FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN TOSSED THEM IN THE COOKED SEASONINGS AND SPICES. MY DAUGHTER AND I JUST LOVED 'EM!!!!!GREAT ONE!!!! WILL DEFINITELY DO THIS ONE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
loved the flavors!! only reason i am giving it four stars is because there isnt enough meat on the bones that was edible. using the same exact recipe, i think that next time i will sear the ribs then throw it all into the slow cooker to get the meat super tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It is the best and I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bob70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I read the reviews so I gave it a try. This recipe is really excellent. I added just a 1/4 cup of orange juice and paired the meat with cabbage slaw, brown rice and baked beans. This is really one of the best dishes yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I am really looking forward to trying this recipe.I have cooked a lot of ribs but NEVER boiled them,wonderful idea,will try this soon.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States