Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These were so delicious! This Texas family gobbled up everything on their plates. We had guests over for dinner and they raved about how wonderful everything came out. Evidence was empty plates even after serving hefty portions. I will definitely make this again. Like other readers, I used country style pork ribs. I put the entire package about 7 pounds into a roaster, cooking atop my gas stove top, every 15 mins I would switch the roaster around the burners to create a more evenly distributed "roast". It did take a lot longer than 25 mins, but I had quite a bit to cook about 2.5 hours. It was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was an excellent recipe, thank you. I don't have a natural talent for cooking so I deeply appreciate this website and wonderful dishes I'm able to make. My only comment is that it takes longer than 25 minutes for the water to totally evaporate but the ribs are so flavorful you know it's well worth it! This is one of my faves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTomate

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These were soooooo bland and the ribs were still raw after over an hour simmering..yuk..will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. To begin with the seasonings over power this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My ribs came out dry, but the flavor was good. There was too much water to evaporate. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Outstanding. It tastes like I spent hours cooking. Thank mom for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this with 6 Country Style ribs. It took much longer than 25 minutes for the water to boil away (over an hour), although it's possible I was a bit to liberal in my interpretation of "just covered with water". It was definitely worth the wait however, as the meat was very flavorful and moist - very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carbone
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow. Let me start by saying that I have never made ribs before, but when I received this recipe in my inbox, I had to make it. Baby back ribs were on sale at my grocery store - so that's what I used. The only adjustments I made to the recipe were to add some Cherry Coke Zero to the water at the beginning to add some extra flavor, used fresh rosemary instead of dried and only used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/2 cup based on the reviews. I love salt, but I'll probably only use 1/4 cup next time. Final cooking time was 2 1/2 hours. LET THEM BOIL DOWN. Do not drain the liquid. I used a deep 14 inch round pan and barely covered the top of the ribs with liquid. I was worried I was going to overcook the meat by letting them boil for so long, but they were delicious. I used fresh parsley and some extra lime juice at the end. So, so, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carbone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These were delicious!!! Followed almost exact but with fresh Rosemary. Used skillet and it still took about an hour to boil off the water. Flavor was awesome, sauce elegant. Husband likes lots, too. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I liked it but next time I'll reduce the garlic and add a sweetener. I like the mix of salt and sweet, but it must be balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barilla® Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States