Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Wow, so happy to see all of the positive reviews. My mom says thanks everyone. Just a note. The recipe that I submitted says to use PARSLEY, with a small note at the bottom that cilantro may be substituted. I guess Allrecipes figures Latin food must use cilantro. Parsley has much better flavor, and many people don't like cilantro. Parsley is used much more in Brazil than cilantro. Great to see that everyone is altering the recipe to suit their own taste. I love how you can use whatever you want in this recipe; as long as you know the technique, you're all set to experiment. If you liked this recipe, try the same method with chicken as well. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Oh my, these were wonderful. I've never tried this cooking technique before and just thought I would give it a try. To be quite frank, I wasn't expecting much. But they were just too good. Ate way more than one portion. I did use boneless country style pork loin ribs to lower the saturated fat and used 2 Tbsp minced garlic. Also needed 50 minutes to cook dry even though I was very careful not to overdo the water. Thanks for sharing this. Can't wait to do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
637 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Yummy!! This was a hit at my house. I used 2 lbs. of bone-in country style pork ribs and just cut the recipie exactly in half. It was perfect. If the water takes too long to boil down turn the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Very good. Made them twice in a week. Having never boiled ribs I found out what others did, that a big pile of ribs (I at least doubled the qty) in a big pot will take hours to boil the water away. Seemed like overcooking so I had to pour off and the first time the ribs were not browned. 2nd time I poured off through a strainer to keep the good bits and browned the ribs. Way good! Yes they seemed salty the first time. Just adjust to taste. The real kicker to this recipe is the cilantro and lime. Use generously during and after cooking and the dish's flavor really pops out. Will be keeping this one around. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe was a huge hit, even with my terribly fussy husband and teenaged daughter. We love barbecuing ribs in the summer, and this recipe is a close second and an easy way to cook ribs during the off-season. I changed the recipe in that I did not use cilantro. Also, I didn't bother cooking the water away...just boiled the ribs for 25 mins. in all those great ingredients, tgeb brushed them with our favorite bottled bbq sauce (Diane's) and then baked them for 10-15 minutes in a 325 degree oven, turning them and brushing them with more sauce half-way through. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was great! I just made it with country style pork ribs. I was looking for a simple recipe that didn't take all day to cook. I used lite soy sauce and reduced the amount as suggested and mine are perfectly seasoned, the cilantro makes it I think.. However, it did take almost 2 hours for all the water to evaporate. Edited: Use the largest (widest) pan you can find to facilitate the evaporation and cook at just a simmering boil. You want the longer cooking time to make them tender. And just as others said, watch it closely when it gets 1/2 because it finishes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is by far, the best pork rib recipe ever. It is a MUST-TRY. I, too, cut down the soy sauce to about 1/4 cup, which was perfect. The slightly garlicy coating is awesome. I almost quit cooking it too soon, as just before it browns it makes a great sauce. I turned it off and tasted some, but turned it back on, and was glad I took it to the final browning stage. Do try this, you won't be disappointed. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
We had these ribs last nite and were in heaven! They were very easy to prepare. I may have put a little too much water because it took an hour for the water to evaporate. I didn't have cilantro so I substituted parsley, oh.. and used low sodium soy sauce. An excellent recipe that will definately be served again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These are awesome. Even my veryyy picky boyfriend thought they were a keeper. I lessened the soy and the water, as other's suggested but otherwised followed the recipe to a T. One note though, when it says brown bits it really means brown bottom. All of a sudden (after 50 minutes or so) there was no water and the bottom of the pan was covered with all the seasonings and I almost burned it. Very delicious, concentrated brown sauce though. Just be careful or it could ruin the pan and the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I took a tip from the other reviews commenting about the saltiness. I still used regular soy sauce but I only used 1/3 cup. It was still a little stronger than I would have preferred but was still very good. I used country style ribs instead of spare ribs and the water did take longer to boil off but I think the size of the ribs I used also called for more water than in the original recipe. I'll use less water next time. The garlic and cilantro added very good flavor. This recipe is a keeper in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States