Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Hockey_Fan
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Wow! These were some really good ribs. I was skeptical of this recipe because of the unorthodox cooking method for ribs, but I'm glad I tried it and I will definitely cook them like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very very tasty and tender. My new favorite receipe for ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was okay. Too much oregano and the meat seemed dry to me. I used Country Style Ribs. I have much better recipes for these, so probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Very nice change of pace. Served with some Brazilian rice referenced elsewhere. So good, and made good leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Made some today. It was delicious. Took about an hour total. Cooked per instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
To all the chefs that are just boiling the ribs, then browning on the grill, STOP! Be patient and let cook until the water has evaporated, it creates a glaze/crust/sauce on the ribs (it took mine about 1 1/2 hours). No need for BBQ sauce. They are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe, very easy with a lot of flavor. However, it makes MUCH longer than 25 mins for the water to evaporate. My ribs cooked well over 1.5 hours. Next time I'm going to add less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I love this recipe! The first time, they were a little too salty because I also seasoned them but, after a few adjustments, this recipe became a regular on the menu. I like that it doesn't take too much prep time and have some white rice and black beans on the side and it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The water boiled out in about 30-35 minutes for me. I think those that didn't get the water out were on low simmer. She says medium boil with lid off which is fairly vigorous. I used 1 T dried parsley and 1 T dried cilantro and 4 fat cloves of garlic and all the other seasonings the way they were written. I had 2 lbs. of boneless country spare ribs. The soy was over powering - VERY SALTY. The other seasonings were good. I would use 1/4 cup of soy at most next time or maybe even less and add 1/4 cup red wine or marsala. I love cooking method - fun and easy. It took about 2 minutes or less to brown once the water was gone. I had seasoned my pan with oil in the beginning on sides as well as bottom and I added a little more olive oil on the browning time. My pan cleaned up surprisingly easy. In the meantime, I boiled some potatoes with a a little skin left on them with a touch of olive oil and 1 clove garlic (3 reg. size yellow potatoes) and mashed them with a little (2 T) half and half/milk and sprinkled some dill. That made a nice complimentary dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'm with everyone else......took forever for the water to boil down - like almost three hours. I cut the recipe in half for just two people. Wondering why it took me so much longer. With that said ...... FABULOUS. If I had ordered these from a restaurant, I'd be back as often as possible. What I did was pour off some of the broth after a long time and set it aside. As the ribs started to brown, I drizzled some of the broth over them to keep them moist. I didn't have bay leaves at home, so can't imagine how much better they could be with those. Made some mashed potatoes and used some of the leftover broth as gravy. Yummy, yummy, yummy. Thanks to "Mom" for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States