Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was a very tasty alternative to the way I've made ribs before. The boiling in the seasoned water did add flavor to the meat, and made the ribs very tender. I just took my best guess at the amount of seasoning to use since "10 pork spareribs" could vary greatly in size, and next time I think I'll go a little heavier on the lime. But the technique is very handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
These were delicious! The herbs really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyKeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I didn't have any luck with this method at all. I had to salvage the recipe by draining the water off after an hour and brush with some rib sauce and put in the oven to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wmk500
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Tasted great. If anything a bit salty so take care on the soy sauce.. Will definitely be trying again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I don't think it could be better! My husband is a mean and potato man, and normally does the cooking. He asked if I could this afternoon as it is over a hundred here in East Texas, and this seemed the perfect answer. Boy, was it ever! Glad our sons were not still living at home, we would not have had enough! Tell your mom, thanks! Might want to add a comment about it being a choice of using low sodium soy sauce to taste. Just a thought. It was great! Go Brazil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
A little disappointing. Followed the recipe to the tee, except 1/3 cup of soy sauce as others suggested. Maybe the flavor is lacking some sweetness to it. The water took an hour to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!! I nice twist to your typical 'messy' ribs. The meat falls right off the bone. I cut down a little on the Soy sauce which didn't make a difference to the taste, just made it less salty. I finished them off on the grill to add a little crisp. My family is looking forward to our next Rib night! YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This recipe really offers endless options of flavor combinations as well as choices of proteins. You can use the technique on everything from ribs to chicken. My favorite combination so far is boneless pork loin country style ribs with hard cider, whole grain mustard and a mix of spices. I try to keep the total amount of liquid/sauce to one and a half cups or less. This helps on keeping the cooking time down as well as using a wide pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Prep is minimal and overall very easy to execute. My son just requested I make this for his 10th birthday dinner. The whole family loves it. I did find that it takes much longer for the liquid to cook down, but that just allows the meat to be more tender and falls right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made these tonight - super yum! Loved the method, so easy and they turned out perfect. I marinated my ribs in the mixture (minus the water) for about an hour and added liquid smoke to them too and I think I probably had 3x the ribs, recipe calls for 10 I probably had 30... Such a different coating, very herby! I also used 1/4 cup of soy sauce as other users suggested, no issues with salt. But perhaps too as I had so many more ribs, it became diluted between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States