Mom's Stovetop Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
If it's difficult to find time to cook, you'll LOVE this recipe. After a long day working in the office, I could come home, through these ingredients together and have supper ready in an hour. No muss, no fuss. Lately I've substituted the pork with chicken thighs to make this dish a bit healthier. This change makes the dish lighter. I never add the suggested lime since I rarely have the fruit lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
So fantastic - the crust over the ribs at the end makes it like a BBQ any time of year! I seasoned the raw ribs with Adobo, and instead of chopping garlic I use the organic chopped garlic that comes in a tube from most grocery produce sections - I rubbed a cloves worth into each rib before adding to the pot. Super easy because you can throw everything in the pot and ignore it for awhile, but be careful when the water gets to a low level, once it disappears you have a very short window before the delicious mass of soy sauce and herbs starts to burn. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Did as directed and just swapped out pineapple-ginger Terryaki sauce for the soy. What a great taste and easy method ! My son and Hubs liked this very much,as we are not much for BBQ anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My guys enjoyed this and the house smelled great! I did cut the soy sauce in half because of the saltiness potential and taste preference. After reading all the reviews about the cooking time, I decided to use a large, deep skillet and it still took an hour and a half for the liquid/juices to cook away. I even added some of the liquid to the rice I was cooking to give it added flavor. Will definitely make again, maybe thickening the liquid toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We don't eat added sugar so finding a good bbq recipe that is not full of sugar is hard but this one was DELISH!!! Definitely a keeper and will make again. It took longer than 25 minutes for the water to boil off though so don't overfill the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
It also took me far longer than the 25 minutes to boil off the water. I wish I would have kept track. I was targeting to eat around 6, and we finally sat down at 7. I ended up pouring off a lot of water as well, returning the "good bits" to the pot. They were fantastic, even for my picky 6 year old (he enjoyed gnawing on the bones like a T Rex!). I can only imagine how much better they'll be when I can take the time to do them correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was delicious over steamed white rice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedaysmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Wonderful!! Made with reduced sodium soy sauce and boneless pork ribs. After 35/40 min the water still hadn't completely evaporated so I just poured it out and then browned the pork. My husband said this was the best pork he has ever had. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I followed the basic recipe instructions as I didn't have all of the ingredients, but the reviews sounded great, so I tried it. Boiled ribs? Oh yeah, baby! They were AMAZING! I used beer instad of water. No lime. No rosemary. I followed what other reviewers said about watching the water. I was skeptical until the very end when the beer boiled away and the seasonings remained. Browned the ribs; removed from pan; stirred BBQ sauce into the pan with the drippings. Spooned/spread over ribs. I'll never cook ribs any other way! Thanks for a fabulous new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good but too salty. I've made these a few times and have reduced the soy by a lot. Takes MUCH longer than 25 minutes to simmer out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States