Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Thanks for the recipe, just what I was looking for. Turned out great!! This is now a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
the sauce for the chicken is so good. I have also made the sauce in the crockpot and threw in turkey meatballs and served over brown rice and broccoli, big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Turned out really well but too sweet for us. Next time I'll reduce the sugar and increase the hot sauce and garlic. The sauce did thicken up as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very tasty - just too sweet. I know you need the sugar to get it sticky, but taste is also important. With 3/4c sugar and a bit more peper the sauce would taste a lot better over rice. I will be using the adapted recipe in future because even the original was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
oh WOW. This was so delicious, I made it with wings and it was truly "bone sucking" good. My children weren't crazy about it but I think it was because of having to touch the sticky chicken (due to bones), I am definitely going to try it with chunks of boneless skinless breasts next time. My husband cleaned his plate as well but did say he would prefer it to be bone free. I served this over brown rice and some asian-inspired sauteed veggies, and it was instantly one of my new favorite recipes. I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly (using rice vinegar and homemade ketchup), but my son is allergic to eggs and corn, so I omitted the eggs and used a mixture of brown rice flour, tapioca starch, and garbanzo bean flour for the breading. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the excellent recipe, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious! Best tasting wings I've ever made! My teenager said "mad good mom" (teenager lingo) she couldn't stop eating them. Definitely a keeper. I didn't have any cornstarch left and used flour instead. Still worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made this recipe for a family potluck/picnic and it was such a huge hit, everyone talked about how great it was and none left to lug home! I made this with chicken tenders instead of cut up chicken pieces, it was easier to eat that way. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Definately a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by jvp1223
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
OMG so easy so delicious!!!! I must say I was a little skeptical about just using garlic salt as seasoning, afraid it would be bland but was I ever wrong..Also never fried with just cornstarch before and the chicken was surprisingly moist juicy and crunchy! I think I would prefer a little more pepper sauce but I'll ty that next time because I'll definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvp1223

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I knew from reading the ingredients that it would be a winner, and VERY happy with the wings! Instead of basting, I just turned the meat over every ten minutes--excited to make this again and again! Sauce DOES thicken as it bakes--I would not change a THING! Thanks for this one--I LOVE IT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States