Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Recipe was a little bland would add garlic and more black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Tasted ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Family loved this. Only suggestions would be drain squash VERY well or you get water in the bottom of casserole and I am going to mix the soup mixture with the squash mixture instead of just ladeling it over the top. It didn't make it all the way to the bottom on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Urban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was good though had to make changes because of not having mushroom soup on hand. Instead made a white sauce from 2 tbs. butter and 1/4 flour, liquid from small can of mushrooms & and little soy milk until it was the consistancy of canned soup, also added garlic and onion powder. Steamed the squash in the microwave for 5 minutes, twice, draining after each time heated. The squash was still a bit crunchy, and next time will try it for 15 min. in microwave. After putting steamed vegetables in baking dish, spread topping on top. Next time will mix in with the vegetables, as the flavor from sauce and cheese would have been throughout the dish. We did enjoy this and will make it again as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was great except for one thing. The croutons. Don't get me wrong I like croutons but on top of this otherwise perfectly good dish was just wrong. I think I'll make it again but instead try instant stuffing as one reviewer did or maybe crushed ritz crackers mixed with butter. But not croutons. Thanks. Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I use seasoned stuffing mix in mine instead of the croutons. To make this super easy, you can buy 2-3 cans (depending on how squashy you want it to taste) of squash with vidalia onions already included in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
A neighbor had brought us a bunch of squash, and I was getting a little tired of stir-frying it. I tried this recipe, and lo and behold, even my picky kids liked it! I don't like mushrooms, so I used cream of celery soup instead. This was a delicious way to get my kids to eat squash. We got two meals out of it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
followed recipe exactly and was all gone in less than half hour (2 older brothers, 1 little, 1 older sister, boyfriend and myself.. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjuliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a good blend of flavors, but just a little drier than I had expected. I might try adding a little milk to moisten just a bit before cooking. Overall, the casserole held up well and was easy to prepare. I did add a little garlic powder, but still seemed to be missing something. Still good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Not mind-blowing but a good, satisfactory side dish and a good way to use up squash from the garden. I lightened it up with egg whites (instead of whole eggs) and reduced fat cheddar cheese. Like other reviews I added some garlic salt and Italian seasoning for extra flavor. I also had to use break crumbs in liue of croutons but that worked out OK as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States