Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was a delicious casserole! I modified it a bit to suit the tastes of my family members. I used a seasoning blend by Pictsweet that has chopped onions, green and red bell peppers, celery, and garlic salt. I sauteed this blend in a little butter while cutting up the squash. I added the squash and water to the sauteed veggies and cooked together for 15 minutes. I substituted cream of celery for the cream of mushroom and added a little cajun seasoning (Tony Chachere's). The casserole came out beautiful and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Yum! I sauted the squash and onion with some garlic powder and topped the casserole with Italian seasoned bread crumbs and a few sprays of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter instead of croutons. This was easy to make and I'm sure we'll be having it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Fantastic recipe!! I lightened it considerably by using Egg Beaters instead of eggs, reducing the cheese to 1 cup (and using 2% milk cheddar cheese), and using just 1/2 cup bread crumbs instead of the croutons. I also found I was out of mushroom soup....I used 98% fat free Broccoli Cheese soup instead and it was fabulous!! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is a GREAT way to cook a LOT of squash. It has a good consistency and it was VERY easy to make. My only suggestion would be to add in salt and pepper to taste as ingredients. Also, a little bit of garlic salt gave it an extra seasoning boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Wonderful, wonderful casserole. I used zuchinni and yellow squash. I added black pepper to the soup mixture (suggested by previous reviewer). I used a four-cheese blend instead of all cheddar. Lastly, I mistakenly bought mushroom soup with roasted garlic--I love garlic and the casserole was just wonderful. My finnicky teenager loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Very good combination of flavors, however, still just a little bland. I added a little garlic powder, italian seasoning and seaasoned salt to my individual helping. It really gave the dish a pick-me-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I didn't like the croutons...I think I'll make it again but use cornbread and make it like a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Excellent recipe. This is one squash casserole I will be making over abd over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
I was looking for a new recipe for summer squash and happened upon this one. Me, my husban and my 3 year old daughter loved it! It was gone in one night and I am making it again tomorrow. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy vegetarian casserole recipe and this fit the bill perfectly. I used a mixture of zucchini and pattypan squash instead of yellow squash and substituted mozzarella cheese for the cheddar. It did come out a little soggy since the squash released moisture during the cooking, but I also added an extra egg so that may have contributed as well. Instead of the croutons, I topped it with Romano cheese and panko breadcrumbs. I served the casserole with a slotted spoon so it wouldn't drip, and the crunch of the panko was a perfect complement to the softness of the squash. Overall, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States