Mom's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Tried this dish after growing yellow squash for the first time. Didn't know what I was going to do with all the squash. Now I know. This casserole is great and a great with anything else you might fix with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Sprinkles
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Smells delicious! I added chopped mushrooms, and since I didn't have croutons, I topped it with fried onions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Tried this new dish and was very pleased. Definitely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dequincy, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wow! This was amazing! I had all this yellow squash and did not know what to do with it! I looked on this site and thought that this recipe sounded easy and good! Excellent choice. I made slow cooked ribs and light salad. Dinner was a BIG hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
HOLY MOLY! THIS WAS AMAZING! It was so good that i passed out the recipe to everyone at work! SO SO GOOD! I have this recipe memorized now and make it as often as i can! YUM! i tried a different recipe to switch things up- and it was not nearly as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOUNTSTARS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I thought this was OKAY, but I won't make it again. I do have to say, though, that my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy vegetarian casserole recipe and this fit the bill perfectly. I used a mixture of zucchini and pattypan squash instead of yellow squash and substituted mozzarella cheese for the cheddar. It did come out a little soggy since the squash released moisture during the cooking, but I also added an extra egg so that may have contributed as well. Instead of the croutons, I topped it with Romano cheese and panko breadcrumbs. I served the casserole with a slotted spoon so it wouldn't drip, and the crunch of the panko was a perfect complement to the softness of the squash. Overall, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I thought this tasted alright. The only change I made was subbing a cup of litely buttered ritz type crackers for the croutons, because I don't care for casseroles with bread crumb or crouton toppings. I also used lite cheddar and a little less than what was called for as cheese does not come in 2 cup bags anymore I realized and that is what I had bought. This will all get eaten up, but I personally thought it was kind of mushy, and it doesn't reheat very well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Mmmm, so good! This was the first time I've had squash casserole so I was nervous! But I am so pleased! I love it. This recipe is excellent, I will not search for another and I'll be making it many more times. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States