Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread Haiku: "This was a nice bread! Spice was a bit overkill. Still I'm glad I made." I know the additional spices are really what set this apart from countless other zucchini bread recipes, but the cloves were just too much in my opinion. I made the bread as directed, not using the optional walnuts nor raisins, but instead tossing in about 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips. Unfortunately 50 min. was too long for my 2 loaves; maybe my oven was feeling more hot than usual or maybe I should've started checking the bread sooner, but my loaves turned out really dry and I've had to slather them in butter to make up for it. If I make this recipe again, I'll drop the cloves entirely and either bake for a shorter time, or make them into muffins instead as many people suggested in their reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Spices make all the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a very tasty zucchini recipe. I altered a couple of things: I used 1 cup of brown sugar and one cup of white and I replaced 1/2 of the oil with applesauce. I used only the raisins and no nuts. I got 24 muffins out of it which I needed to bake for 26-30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great!!! can't screw it up, very light too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I love all the spices in this recipe. I did substitute and use 1 cup brown sugar and only 1 cup white sugar. Coworkers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good I made muffins with this recipe and didnt have clove so I used pumpkin pie spice also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. They were very moist and I will definately be makeing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These are very good. I used pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any ground cloves and I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and substituted 2/3 cup of coconut oil for the vegetable oil. Used muffin pans and cooked for about 25 minutes as someone else suggested. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought this was excellent even though I am picky about my zucchini bread, not too sweet but hearty, warm and treating. I think I am going to add some brown sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetapolishDotCom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pretty nice, rich taste. Also baked as muffins for 25 min. I used half AP flour and half WW flour. They have a brown color which is perfect for this spiced treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States