Mom's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I have made this recipe twice already. It needs alot longer then an hour to simmer. It took 3 hours this last time to get it to a thick enough consistency. Other changes: Used ground turkey instead of beef. Added some parsley and oregano. Other than that, I absolutely adore this recipe and will be using it as 'my' spaghetti sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband loved it and he is picky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
A simple, tasty sauce. I added Italian spice, used ground turkey, and replaced the tomato sauce with a can of stewed tomatoes and a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I made this today, it was very yummy, i ended up using fresh garlic instead of powder. And i didn't have tomatoe juice so i used tomatoe sauce, i would have gave 5 stars, but maybe next time i will add a little sugar, my husband thought that it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Loved it! My husband and I polished off a whole lb of spaghetti it was sooooo good! Will be on my list of faves for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this sauce last night and I added some sugar and oragano, it came out great and i'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was quick n easy. I did add some chopped Basil to it and used Italian sweet sausage instead of the hamburger. Simmered a good long while. Yummy. Thanks Ronda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
We loved how simple and good this was.I had to make small changes due to missing ingredients.I did not have parsley but would have added it.I can so I used 2 quarts tomatos so I had to cook longer to get the water out. I used our favorite deer/pork sausage but still fried it in the oil with onions which would have been the way I usually do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Every time I eat spaghetti with this sauce, I just lose myself in it. One time after my mom made it, I accidentally dropped it. I couldn't believe I dropped mom's spaghetti. It felt like my soul was escaping, until she made more. I'm glad she makes it, because every time I try to, I keep on forgetting what I wrote down. Anyway, this sauce is really good. Try it, even if you only give it one shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I added some real tomatoes (about 6 small) and simmered for 3 hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States