Mom's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I have made this recipe twice already. It needs alot longer then an hour to simmer. It took 3 hours this last time to get it to a thick enough consistency. Other changes: Used ground turkey instead of beef. Added some parsley and oregano. Other than that, I absolutely adore this recipe and will be using it as 'my' spaghetti sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
A simple, tasty sauce. I added Italian spice, used ground turkey, and replaced the tomato sauce with a can of stewed tomatoes and a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband loved it and he is picky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I made this today, it was very yummy, i ended up using fresh garlic instead of powder. And i didn't have tomatoe juice so i used tomatoe sauce, i would have gave 5 stars, but maybe next time i will add a little sugar, my husband thought that it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this sauce last night and I added some sugar and oragano, it came out great and i'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Loved it! My husband and I polished off a whole lb of spaghetti it was sooooo good! Will be on my list of faves for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
We loved how simple and good this was.I had to make small changes due to missing ingredients.I did not have parsley but would have added it.I can so I used 2 quarts tomatos so I had to cook longer to get the water out. I used our favorite deer/pork sausage but still fried it in the oil with onions which would have been the way I usually do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was quick n easy. I did add some chopped Basil to it and used Italian sweet sausage instead of the hamburger. Simmered a good long while. Yummy. Thanks Ronda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I added some real tomatoes (about 6 small) and simmered for 3 hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I didn't have tomato juice so I added more tomato sauce. I also added a can of rotel tomatoes (for some kick), stewed tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, basil, oregano, and thyme. I had to adjust by adding a small amount of water for consistency. It was GREAT! The addition of parsley was a bonus...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States