Mom's Spaghetti Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've tried to make homemade sauce before without much success, but this sauce was easy, toothsome, and a keeper! I was dubious about the bacon, celery and balsamic, but those worked out wonderfully. Am about to make this again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an awesome dinner for my family. I made it a little differently though. We used whole wheat pene pasta instead of spaghetti and added 1/2 cup of red wine as well as the balsamic vinegar. Our choice of meat was ground Italian sausage which made the flavor profile deep and rich with comforting goodness. A must save recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
In order to stay on my no carb diet I substituted spaghetti squash steamed in microwave for 10 mins. for noodles and did ground chicken with a little chicken stock instead of beef. It was amazing. And just as satisfying as real pasta. And I'm a pasta fanatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Skipped bacon fat to make it healthier. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I wish I could give this a 2.5. We ate it. It was hot and it was over pasta, which made it good for a winter's evening. But this sauce tastes predominantly of canned tomatoes. In fact, it really doesn't taste much at all like the Bolognese I've had in restaurants. We won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It was good! Nothing special but very fresh flavors and a filling dinner for several meals for me and my bf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Excellent.. I used the opion of wine rather thn vinegar. And I slow cooked th finished sauce for 3-4 hours using beef broth(and a littl more dry red wine) to thin as needed. I tasted the sauce at the point the recipe was complete and i think the slow cooking further improved a good sauce. I think the beef broth made it heartier with more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
An excellent recipe by following the steps is a sure win to a novice cook like me. Made some adjustment by adding both balsamic vinegar & Red cooking wine and chopped rosemary leaves just before serving to give that flavour. Best to let in 'rest' for about 1 hour to allow the meat flavour to blend into the sauce. Serve this to my in law relatives and they gave a Thumb up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahong88

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
A little too sweet for me. I had to add a little vinegar to balance it out. Next time I make this, I will taste it before adding the sugar. I might add only 1 teaspoon of sugar or maybe none at all. Otherwise, I still give this recipe maximum stars because it was absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it and are asking for it again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't add the bacon and only had diced tomatoes, which I just blended up to give more of a sauce texture. I didn't have any celery to add and forgot about the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States