Mom's Spaghetti Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Medea Dudley
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an awesome dinner for my family. I made it a little differently though. We used whole wheat pene pasta instead of spaghetti and added 1/2 cup of red wine as well as the balsamic vinegar. Our choice of meat was ground Italian sausage which made the flavor profile deep and rich with comforting goodness. A must save recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
In order to stay on my no carb diet I substituted spaghetti squash steamed in microwave for 10 mins. for noodles and did ground chicken with a little chicken stock instead of beef. It was amazing. And just as satisfying as real pasta. And I'm a pasta fanatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Skipped bacon fat to make it healthier. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I wish I could give this a 2.5. We ate it. It was hot and it was over pasta, which made it good for a winter's evening. But this sauce tastes predominantly of canned tomatoes. In fact, it really doesn't taste much at all like the Bolognese I've had in restaurants. We won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It was good! Nothing special but very fresh flavors and a filling dinner for several meals for me and my bf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Excellent.. I used the opion of wine rather thn vinegar. And I slow cooked th finished sauce for 3-4 hours using beef broth(and a littl more dry red wine) to thin as needed. I tasted the sauce at the point the recipe was complete and i think the slow cooking further improved a good sauce. I think the beef broth made it heartier with more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
An excellent recipe by following the steps is a sure win to a novice cook like me. Made some adjustment by adding both balsamic vinegar & Red cooking wine and chopped rosemary leaves just before serving to give that flavour. Best to let in 'rest' for about 1 hour to allow the meat flavour to blend into the sauce. Serve this to my in law relatives and they gave a Thumb up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahong88

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
A little too sweet for me. I had to add a little vinegar to balance it out. Next time I make this, I will taste it before adding the sugar. I might add only 1 teaspoon of sugar or maybe none at all. Otherwise, I still give this recipe maximum stars because it was absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it and are asking for it again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't add the bacon and only had diced tomatoes, which I just blended up to give more of a sauce texture. I didn't have any celery to add and forgot about the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Filling satisfying exactly what you want from this dish. Went down well at work and everyone went back for seconds. Perhaps it was a bit light on the seasoning as a little bland for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States