Mom's Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
We added a thinly sliced, medium yellow onion and sautéed that with the mushrooms, chicken, and garlic before adding the sauce ingredients, along with a little marojam, thyme and seasoned salt in place of plain. We ate this with white rice and green beans, and it made a nice, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Maybe it was something I did, but it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
good but...I used less mustard than required but family still thought it had too much... interesting flavor but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! I made this dish the same as recipe but cooked chicken longer and used olive oil rather then vegetable oil. Then used Woeber's Reserve southwest mustard also thinned with a little water served over wild rice a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Definitely a keeper. My wife and I changed the recipe a tad though, adding more ketchup, less sour cream and then putting bacon into the sauce. We also made the sauce separately and grilled the chicken. It turned out amazing and the idea is great. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I liked it but i added much more garlic powder and less mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corsetopia
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was great! The only thing that I did different was didn't add the mustard at all, my family isn't a big fan of too much 'mustardy' taste, so we eliminated that alltogether. The end result was a fantastic tasting creamy chicken, and it was perfect paired up with green beans! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was good but still strong mustard taste with 1 tbsp less than what was called for. Good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I thought this was actually quite bland. My husband liked it, but I would not make it again. I ended up adding a lot of extra pepper, serving it over orzo and sprinkling parmesan cheese on top. It was edible, but nothing I would rave about. Definately tasted more like mustard chicken than sour cream chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Too much mustard taste. We like mustard, but it just didn't complement this dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States