Mom's Smoked Salmon Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband made this recipe exactly as it's written, and we're basing our review on that. This is bland and disappointing. In the first place, the rice is way out of proportion with all other ingredients. In the second place, there's absolutely *no* flavor. In the third place, it's super, SUPER dry. I like my fried rice either full of flavor, or saucy, or both. This was neither. It might be a decent base for whatever flavor you'd like to add - but it is NOT a good "stand alone" recipe. Also, I would double the amount of peas, eggs, salmon, onions - or cut the rice in half. But we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We enjoyed this a lot but I did change it a bit. I used brown rice rather than white (enough for 4 servings). I used red bell pepper in place of the onions because I had no onions. I also added 2 Tbsp of soy sauce and 1 Tbsp of rice vinegar. I felt it needed some kind of "sauce". Loved the flavor of the salmon. Great, fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
To reduce carbs and add more veg/protein, I use 1c dry rice, 1 cup peas, and 2 salmon burgers from Costco, then the rest of the recipe as is written. Doesn't last long...so we make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Well, I can't give this five stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but used it as a guide. I had leftover cooked rice and cooked salmon so I used these plus chopped red pepper, celery and green onion plus the cooked egg. My rice was a bit on the dry side so I added a bit of vegetable oil and fluffed it up. I followed the cooking instructions, omitting cooking the rice of course, and once I added the salmon and rice and stirred it all up, it still seemed a bit dry so I added some sun-dried/oregano salad dressing and mixed that in. Once heated through and spooned out into individual bowls, I topped the rice with a bit of shredded cheese (we love cheese) and we think it turned out pretty darn good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Changed this around a little bit, here and there and it is quick, easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was pretty good and kind of surprising. I added a can of mushrooms, and some frozen broccoli that I had handy. I added the rice a little at a time until it seemed like the right amount, so I didn't quite use all the rice. I did use about 2 T of soy sauce, because we like salty, but it really didn't need additional salt to taste good. All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cincysly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is perfect!!! Added soy sauce and some red pepper flakes. Will be a staple in our Alaskan home, Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haines, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Is pretty tasty. Even the picky teen like it enough to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILITHSANGLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe is a new and exciting way to use our bountiful supply of smoked salmon. The dish is quick and easy and the peas and onion harmonize well with the smoked salmon. Thanks for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
YUMMY. I was wondering what to do with the smoked salmon left over from brunch and this hits the spot. Simple ingredients and tons of flavor. I might not ever order greasy take out friend rice again. My roommates will be amazed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States