Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that would make drop dumplings as easily as Bisquick but without the Bisquick's fake ingredients. This is it! Perfectly soft and puffy. Only change I made was to use butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I forgot to make bread with our stew yesterday which was a tragedy so we decided to throw in some dumplings instead. My three year old calls them ducklings and he thought they were great. We didn't have any leftovers so I'll definitely be using this recipe again. Very tasty and really easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
We like dumplings in beef stew and I've never been able to make really good ones. Until yesterday. I made them too large really but it didn't matter. They were perfect, light and tender all the way through. My only change was to add coarsely ground pepper. I'll halve the size next time but I'll use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were great. Made them dairy free due to dietary restrictions in the family. Used 3 Tbsp ground flax seed and 2 Tbsp canola oil for the shortening and 3/4 cup rice milk for the milk. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Good old fashioned bread dumplings! Simple and perfect for stew. I added a tablespoon of dried parsley flakes for color but that's it. You can add other herbs but why ... the simplicity of this dumpling compliments and doesn't compete with the stew's gravy. After plopping mine on top of the stew I covered with a lid and turned heat to the lowest setting for 10 minutes and then turned off the heat and left them rest while still covered for another 10 minutes. They puffed up nice and had a wholesome goodness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to make chicken and dumplings when I stumbled across this recipe. Next time I will double the batch of dumplings as they were really REALLy good. Easy, fast, and good--couldn't ask for a better dumpling! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were really good dumplings, a bit too fluffy for my liking though, I like them a bit more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is exactly the ingredients my mom and grandma used to use for drop dumplings in boiled chicken. Thank you for this recipe, as I did not get it from them. I've been looking for a drop dumpling recipe like they used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurst gals
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
SOOOOO easy and soooooo tasty. I have always bought the yellow box of biscuit mix to make dumplings. These are far better and the texture is less heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Perfect! The exact recipe I was looking for. I added some herbs and spices before mixing in the milk and they were fabulous in stew. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States