Mom's Simple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Just so you know....this was Great Gramma Viki's recipe from so long ago, & I've loved it all my life ( and I'm almost 70, so it's OLD!). However, a dumpling is a "gentle" thing. If you have the heat too high, or "boil" the poor thing, it WILL disintegrate. Don't have to thicken the soup anymore, but I LIVE for those dumplings!!! "Gently simmer", please! !!! HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I lost my mom's recipe for dumplings and tried this....it delivered! The same melt in your mouth wonderfulness of comfort. I used the recipe as written and just added a little freshly ground black pepper at the end as a topping. I used them on creamy chicken stew. I am married to a Jamaican, and after 15 years of his hard dumplings, it was heaven to come back to these little clouds of dumplings like mom used to make! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I didn't like them and I wish I had seasoned them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Whorton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Countrymama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Never tried to make chicken and dumplings before, but I found a recipe last night for a crockpot version. However it called for refrigerated premade biscuits... Which I neither had on hand, or wanted to use based on the various reviews. Found this recipe this morning while it was cooking. So happy with it! Forgot to read the number of servings so I have more dough then needed, but it's a simple recipe with cheap ingredients so I'm not too upset. I did substitute margarine for shortening simply because that's what I had on hand. Which from what I've seen is a pretty common substitution. Atleast in my home ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Decrease flour by 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great dumplings just like Mom used to make. The only thing I change is I substitute butter for the shortening but other than that it is perfect and super simple. The only problem with these dumplings is I always have to double or triple the recipe cause my guys can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I have tried and tried to make good dumplings, like my mom made when I was a child. I have never been able to do it. This recipe is awesome! I did sift all of the dry ingredients, before mixing the rest of it. I also added some parsley, just before they were done. Perfect!!Thank you!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars for EASE! BUT.. I added a little garlic powder, lemon pepper and parsley to the dumpling mixture and it really kicked up their flavor!! ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Good as a replacement for refrigerator biscuits in the cowboy casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States