Mom's Shrimp Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Great salad. I always find that macaroni salads become dry after awhile. So I always add some sour cream with the mayo. The sour cream does not soak into the macaroni like the mayo does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
My family and I are all from New Orleans and we love seafood any which way you can cook it, and this was the best cold salad I have made or tasted. I brought some to my parents and my grandmother who is 87,(and very picky)No One cooks better than granny you know...She loved it!! I will make this again and again...It really is terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I made this recipe for a spring barn party and it was a great hit. You may want to cut back on the horseradish if kids will be eating this salad. I used a fancier macaroni as an eye catcher. Will make this recipe again, no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Great for families who are not used to really bold tastes. I think kids who like shrimp will like this. I added a bit of lime juice to the shrimp before mixing with the rest of the salad. I also added the lime zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Very good, left out pickle relish, ketchup, horseradish, but added old bay in place of chili powder also I added a little mustard some cheese and eggs. I think next time I will try the horseradish just to see if I like the flavor in the salad because I love horseradish. End result was basic, but still very good, can't wait for lunch today, because it has been chilling all night. I always believe salads like this are better the next day as the flavors have a chance to come together and the pasta has had a chance to chill. OH!!! I ALSO USED LARGER SHRIMP 31/40 COUNT INSTEAD OF SALAD SHRIMP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
I was not impressed. Maybe it would have been better with a "tweeking" of the ingredients but I didn't like it enough to try it again. If I did I would put in more horseradish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
My partner does not like horseradish or pickle relish but he loved this and asked afterwards if I was going to be making it again! I did baulk a little at the thought of all the processed sauces going into the dish but it did taste very nice and tangy. Next time however I'll leave the prawns on the side rather than mixing them in with the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
We tried this recipie and we were pleasantly surprised because some of the ingredients were not flavors that we normally use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buggy and Bob
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I changed a few things, like everyone else, to accomodate our family's tastes, but overall it was an extremely creative and tasty recipe. Thanks for the idea! I left out the green pepper and celery and added chopped jalapenos instead of hot pepper sauce. I also doubled the pasta, the shrimp and the mayo. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Wonderful! My 6 year old son loved it! Becky, be sure and thank your Mom for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States