Mom's Shrimp Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I was looking for a different type of macaroni salad for a party and decided to try this. I made a trial batch last night and it turned out terrific. If you leave out the hot pepper sauce, what you have is a type of Russian dressing. I agree with the addition of pickle juice since that was my mom's "secret ingredient" to her potato salad that everyone always loved. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Every time I have made this for friends they request the recipe. I even had my mom who has been using her recipe for over 10 years ask me to give it to her. I never have problems with the recipe and when I am in a time crunch stick it in the freezer for about 45 minutes and then into the fridge and it always turns out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this for a bunch of old crusty hunters who have an opinion on everything( you know the type ;) .... well no complaints,which means they loved it.Great with fish fry and a cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC recipe Becky... thankyou. It will go into my regular rotation. Made a few changes. First, I doubled the recipe, and used small shells instead of the elbows. Used dried onion flakes instead of the fresh. Left out the green pepper because my husband doesn't care for it. Used dill pickle juice instead of the vinegar. Used dried parsley instead of the fresh, and substituted Old Bay for the chili powder as others have suggested. Used canned medium deveined shrimp (2 four ounce cans because the recipe was doubled). Even with all those changes, it still had amazing flavor. The sauce was very liquid when first made, but it all absorbed after the 3 hours in the fridge, and was the perfect consistency. Day #2 it's even better, and doesn't need more mayo. I can see where this would be terrific using chicken or ham instead of the shrimp. This is one of my favorite recipes on Allrecipes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. He suggested maintaining the recipe as a home standard and just replacing the shrimp with other types of meat for variety. It was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Way too much relish that was all you tasted so I kept adding other stuff to help the taste but still tasted mostly relish would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snooky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I have had this recipe saved for years & never rated yet. It's very good! Of course you can tweak it & use fewer ingredients. I did use pickle juice as I do with all my cold salads. And the biggest shrimp I can afford, steamed at the store with Old Bay seasoning wakes it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I didn't change anything when making this. It was definitely very good, but I will use less mayo and relish next time. Also, will add more shrimp and use shells instead of the elbow macaroni, or just add more pasta to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
have made this several times now once for a huge b'day party .......everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
delicious. i didnt add the horseradish, hot pepper sauce, celery seed or the chili powder (didnt have)-substituted some spicy mustard and a bit of tabasco sauce. doubled the shrimp too! so good. Make it whenever weve got shrimp on hand for hubbys lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States