Mom's Shrimp Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Great for families who are not used to really bold tastes. I think kids who like shrimp will like this. I added a bit of lime juice to the shrimp before mixing with the rest of the salad. I also added the lime zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I made this recipe for a spring barn party and it was a great hit. You may want to cut back on the horseradish if kids will be eating this salad. I used a fancier macaroni as an eye catcher. Will make this recipe again, no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
My family and I are all from New Orleans and we love seafood any which way you can cook it, and this was the best cold salad I have made or tasted. I brought some to my parents and my grandmother who is 87,(and very picky)No One cooks better than granny you know...She loved it!! I will make this again and again...It really is terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Wonderful! My 6 year old son loved it! Becky, be sure and thank your Mom for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
I was not impressed. Maybe it would have been better with a "tweeking" of the ingredients but I didn't like it enough to try it again. If I did I would put in more horseradish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I like to use medium shell pasta in seafood salad. This is really yummy, and you can adjust ingredients according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I changed a few things, like everyone else, to accomodate our family's tastes, but overall it was an extremely creative and tasty recipe. Thanks for the idea! I left out the green pepper and celery and added chopped jalapenos instead of hot pepper sauce. I also doubled the pasta, the shrimp and the mayo. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
i had a BBQ and i served this, i got a lot of compliments on it. I added extra mayo, red rooster hot sauce, and added a few shakes of both creole seasoning and season salt. I squeazed lemon on the shrimp as well. i ommited the ketchup. definatly 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Not bad. We took it to a bbq this summer. It really had a new flavor to it! It was pretty good. Differn't but good. I followed the recipe to the T. Next time may add some herbs-there is room to play with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Great salad. I always find that macaroni salads become dry after awhile. So I always add some sour cream with the mayo. The sour cream does not soak into the macaroni like the mayo does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States