Mom's Shrimp Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Very good, left out pickle relish, ketchup, horseradish, but added old bay in place of chili powder also I added a little mustard some cheese and eggs. I think next time I will try the horseradish just to see if I like the flavor in the salad because I love horseradish. End result was basic, but still very good, can't wait for lunch today, because it has been chilling all night. I always believe salads like this are better the next day as the flavors have a chance to come together and the pasta has had a chance to chill. OH!!! I ALSO USED LARGER SHRIMP 31/40 COUNT INSTEAD OF SALAD SHRIMP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
We tried this recipie and we were pleasantly surprised because some of the ingredients were not flavors that we normally use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buggy and Bob
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Loved this salad!! One of the best I've had. I was trying to find something that I tried at a BBQ but this was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Yummy! I didn’t have horseradish on hand actually I’ve never had horseradish before but I think I will try it next time. Do you buy the jars in the pickle section???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Lot of ingredients, but worth it. This was so yummy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This recipe is great for summer BBQ's to use in place of a potato salad or a traditional pasta salad. I thought it was pretty delicious... however, I made several variations to it to accomodate my taste. I omitted the relish, celery seed and horseradish. Instead of onion, I used scallions (green onion). Instead of chili powder, I used paprika. I also added crabmeat and sliced black olives. Overall... it was pretty good! I made this dish into a dinner with some hot garlic bread and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
this is great, wouldn't change a thing! not too sweet, with a little "kick". thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I wasn't that impressed with this salad. It took a lot of prep. and ingredients and was no better that your usual pasta salad. It wasn't bad just not worth the time. OOh Well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Great salad. I always find that macaroni salads become dry after awhile. So I always add some sour cream with the mayo. The sour cream does not soak into the macaroni like the mayo does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Not bad. We took it to a bbq this summer. It really had a new flavor to it! It was pretty good. Differn't but good. I followed the recipe to the T. Next time may add some herbs-there is room to play with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States