Mom's Shredded Elk Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Everyone loved this! This includes four kids under the age of 10, one of whom is very picky. We will definitely be making this again. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
So yummy and so easy! We used venison instead, and used apple cider vinegar instead of lemon juice because we didn't have any on hand and no W. sauce, because we have an allergy in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We used this for an odd shaped venison roast. What a great recipe! Easy, tasty and great left overs. What more can you ask? We made this one weekend and ended up freezing the meat and using that afterwards for sandwiches on the ski hill a week later. The meat still tastes good cold! We will use this again for sure! The only thing we changed was we used deer instead of elk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was delicious!! Did add a couple more tablespoons of brown sugar and 1 tbsp of cider vinegar as per reviews. I am extremely sensitive to the gamey taste of wild meat, but this is a keeper of a recipe! I served it on kaiser bun with cheddar and parmesan melted onto it, and with a cilantro mayonnaise. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Holy moly this was awesome! Will be doing this with all of my elk roasts! Family and extended family (including little kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Kids liked it but not me or the hubby. Thanks anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this with venison and I found it very good but not saucy enough for my tastes. It was very very good, but I will continue my hunt for the perfect shredded meat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe! I had never cooked venison before so I was a little itimidated, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plains, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum, yum! Made this with 1 lb of deer burger and cut the ingredients in 1/2. Husband couldn't say enough and I loved it too. No deer taste at all. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My sister and I do what we call "guina pig night" where once a week we take turns cooking a meal that has to be a recipe we haven't tried or a different version of an old faithful. My husband just got his elk and it was my turn so I found this recipe. I followed it to the letter and got scored 10 (we rate 1-10) all around! I didn't have to add anything including water and there was enough sauce to put in a bowl and we could add extra on the bun if we chose. This was the easiest recipe I've ever made and it will get made again and again. Not that this isn't long enough, but I also fixed the Mom's German Cole Slaw I found on this sight and we added it to our sandwiches and it was a perfect topper and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utahnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States