Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Good base recipe; add your own twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious. Added a second 8-ounce can of tomato sauce and a LOT more vegetables: besides the canned green beans, 1 can of corn, 4 slender fresh carrots chopped and cooked for 4 minutes, 1/2 yellow onion chopped. We used 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce. We added 1 cup shredded cheese to the 9 mashed potatoes and sprinkled some of it on top of the pie. It makes A LOT. Easily enough for 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was my first time making a shepherd's pie, so I picked this recipe since it was the easiest. It was a hit. I did cut the mashed potatoes but I think I could have still cut it more. I did also add condensed tomato soup & dry onion soup mix & a lil milk like I saw mentioned on other reviews. i didn't have the worceseterhire sauce & I don't think it was missed. I also left a spoonful or so of the onion soup mix & added it to the mashed potatoes when I made them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is our go-to shep pie recipe. It's a great base recipe. I always change up the veg depending on what I have and always add more Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of my favorites-I added 1 cup of shredded Cheddar during the last 10 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Andrea CA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have made this before and it was good, but this time I made a few changes. I added one can of corn instead of green beans. I added 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, 1 tablespoon minced onions 1 and 1/2 cups of mild cheddar cheese. I mixed 1 cup of the cheese with all ingredients and 1/2 cup of cheese with the mash potatoes. It came of GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Awesome! Just made a couple changes. I fried a little onion and celery with the ground beef, threw in a little garlic, and didn't have green beans so substituted a bag of frozen mixed veggies for the beans. Turned out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe, added corn layer also and onion soup mix packet to meat instead of the other seasonings as recommended by another. All 3 of my boys loved it (My husband being my 3rd boy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My husband had 4 servings the first time I made this (despite protests I used too many peas). I did make a few modifications. For the mashed potatoes, I used only 7 potatoes, and mashed with butter and cream. For the meat layer, I reduced meat to 1 lb, added 1 clove of garlic, increased worcestershire sauce to 2 tsp, used 1 cup of chopped green beans, 1 cup frozen corn, 1 cup frozen peas. I'd probably increase the seasonings even more next time, but I'm still thrilled with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this last night for my husband who is a very picky eater... He asked for seconds!!! even packed leftovers for lunch today. this is definitely a new favourite in my house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States