Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Delicious! Everyone in my family loved it. One note though...on the nutritional information, it gives the nutritional value based on 6 servings. This made much more than 6 servings! It fit in a 9x13 casserole pan, and served my family of 7 with lots of leftovers. I'd say it made 12 servings. So that means that the calories/fat etc. per serving would be much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a great basic recipe to tweak. I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce, worchester sauce and a packet of lipton onion soup mix instead of salt, pepper and flour mixture. I also used a bag of frozen mixed veggies instead of canned green beans. the meat didn't have as much sauce to it as I would have liked, so next time I will some water to make it a bit juicier. Made the mashed potatoes with milk, sour cream and mustard. Got rave reviews from my whole family... even my 18 month old! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This was a great meal. However, I love garlic. So I made only a few changes to it. First instead of using two cans of greenbeans,I used one can of beans and one can of corn. As for the garlic, I chopped six cloves of garlic and added it to the ground beef just before it was completly browned.I also added some onion at the same time. I'll make this stuff time and time again. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Good base recipe. Made the first time exactly as recipe states. Wasn't too thrilled; the flavor was a bit too bland for my household's taste. Made again with the following changes and got a WOW from my bf: diced 1med onion and sweat in 2 tblsp olive oil. cook until translucent & add 2 tbsp minced garlic. cook for 2-3 minutes. Add 2lbs ground beef sirloin, parsley, salt and pepper and brown, drain excess. Add 15oz tomato sauce, 1 can peas, 1 can green beans, 1 can corn, mix together. Add flour and water mixture (2.5tblsp flour/4tblsp water), mix well. place into baking dish, top with colby jack or sharp cheddar cheese (I used about 1-2 cups) and then mashed taters (I did cheat and used boxed mashed potatoes that I doctored up with chives, garlic and onion powder) and cook for 20mins. take out and brush top with butter and milk and bake for 5 more minutes. Not sure if this can still be called shepherd's pie after my alterations, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
To make the recipe easier, I substituted instant mashed potatoes. I also added grated cheddar cheese on top. It was a quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Very good "base" recipe! I chopped up some red onion and added to the ground beef while browning. I too added Lipton Onion soup mix. I didn't use the tomato sauce--didn't have any. Instead I added a little red wine--no worchestershire or ketchup. I used canned french cut green beans. The flour/water mixture held it together very well. For the mashed potatoes, I used instant and added butter and salt. I topped it all off with shredded cheddar cheese. This was EXCELLENT!!! A very good & quick meal for busy moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
You know what? I've been meaning to rate this since 2003...lol. It is the BEST comfort food we ever had. Served with a salad, it makes you SIGH after your done your meal. My son asks for it regularly and our friends and family request it when we visit their homes. THANK YOU, MISSY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This was a great recipe. I followed it exactly, except I added condensed cheddar cheese soup and put shredded cheddar cheese on top and it came out AWESOME! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was quite good, especially for the mashed potato lover at your house. I added 1 can tomato soup and 1/2 can of beefbroth to the liquid & pinch of sugar. I added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. We enjoyed it! Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I used frozen mixed veggies instead of the green beans and it turned out great. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States