Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
my son, who is very fussy, loves this. I sometimes cheat and use instant mashed potatoes (the ones from real flakes) since it saves time. I also add some creamed corn to the potatoes for extra nutrition, which is good for moms who need to 'hide the vegetables"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
great base - as I got comfortable with it I started realizing that I could toss whatever frozen veggies I've got in the mix. Once I even just served the mix over mashed potatoes because we were to hungry to wait for the baking process - not fancy, but hearty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makalika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Anything that turns out as well as this did the first time making it deserves at least 4 stars. Very Good! I'd give it 4+ if I could. I didn't have bell pepper so I used a whole poblano and two roasted green chili peppers, diced. Also, next time I make the potatoes for layering, I would add additional butter, salt and pepper to give them a little richness and depth to go with the savory meat mixture. I've added this to my meal rotation and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used 1/2 diced onions and seasoned the beef prior to cooking. I had leftover chunky mashed potatoes and they were excellent on top of the pie. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstudier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
very good version of shepherds pie. i think its the worchestire sauce that had been missing all along. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Good recipe for comfort food! Sub corn for green beans and sprinkled shredded cheddar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I was looking for a good recipe for "Shepherd's Pie" and used this one recipe for a basis of my own dish. We added a layer of carrots and sweet potatoes and shredded cheese on top. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Wonderful! I made the mashed potatoes with butter, milk and garlic powder. I used a mixture of canned corn and green beans for the vegetables and added about 1/2 cup of tomato paste with the tomato sauce because we like the extra tomato flavor but didn't want it runny. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is not gourmet or anything, but it is surprisinly tasty. I used to have a similiar recipe, but this one is even better with seasoning the meat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States