Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
my son, who is very fussy, loves this. I sometimes cheat and use instant mashed potatoes (the ones from real flakes) since it saves time. I also add some creamed corn to the potatoes for extra nutrition, which is good for moms who need to 'hide the vegetables"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
great base - as I got comfortable with it I started realizing that I could toss whatever frozen veggies I've got in the mix. Once I even just served the mix over mashed potatoes because we were to hungry to wait for the baking process - not fancy, but hearty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makalika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Anything that turns out as well as this did the first time making it deserves at least 4 stars. Very Good! I'd give it 4+ if I could. I didn't have bell pepper so I used a whole poblano and two roasted green chili peppers, diced. Also, next time I make the potatoes for layering, I would add additional butter, salt and pepper to give them a little richness and depth to go with the savory meat mixture. I've added this to my meal rotation and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used 1/2 diced onions and seasoned the beef prior to cooking. I had leftover chunky mashed potatoes and they were excellent on top of the pie. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstudier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
very good version of shepherds pie. i think its the worchestire sauce that had been missing all along. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Good recipe for comfort food! Sub corn for green beans and sprinkled shredded cheddar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I was looking for a good recipe for "Shepherd's Pie" and used this one recipe for a basis of my own dish. We added a layer of carrots and sweet potatoes and shredded cheese on top. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Wonderful! I made the mashed potatoes with butter, milk and garlic powder. I used a mixture of canned corn and green beans for the vegetables and added about 1/2 cup of tomato paste with the tomato sauce because we like the extra tomato flavor but didn't want it runny. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is not gourmet or anything, but it is surprisinly tasty. I used to have a similiar recipe, but this one is even better with seasoning the meat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States