Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by My Dog Is My Audience
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Put Mayo or Some Eggs in your Mashed Potatoes to make a Fluffier, Tastier Crust. I put in lots of garlic.I also add cream of mushroom and beef stock to the meat. Love Shephard's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Dog Is My Audience

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. I usually struggle in the kitchen but this was so easy to make and everyone went back for seconds! I made it a few days ago and my family is already asking when we can have it again. I really liked the onion soup mix added in, I think it adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm a sucker for Shepherd's Pie - it just about sums up the kind of food I love most and this recipe totally delivers. Since I've lately become a big fan of red pepper flakes, I added a goodly dash into the meat base for a little tang. Blended shredded cheddar into the potatoes, too. Again - this pie is delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I added tomato sliced on top of the meat mixture before adding the potatos and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
not firm enough. Less tomato sauce and don't precook as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Whole family liked it, even my finicky 10-year old. She didn't even smother it in ketchup :-) I used mixed veggies instead of green beans, but that was the only modification. 9 potatoes is just the right amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
very bad, felt like I was eating cafeteria food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was super easy to put together and easy to adjust to personal tastes. Everyone from my 2 year old to my 10 year old loved it! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was delicious. Added garlic, onion powder, salt and pepper to the meat and also corn. To the mashed potatos i added milk butter onion powder, salt and pepper. Topped everything with cheese. 5 Minutes before it's done mix milk and melted butter and bast the top. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was not my favorite, but it was a hit with my husband, so the rating is mostly off of his opinion. Maybe it is because I used lamb instead of beef...I wanted to be as traditional as I could. Now, instead of green beans, I used a bag of mixed veggies. Everything else was the same. He really enjoyed it and so did his coworkers. I calculated the servings for just the 2 of us, but clearly this dish is not made for just a couple of people because it turned out to be a huge casserole. Next time, I think I will try it with beef...maybe that will be a better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States