Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Good base recipe; add your own twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious. Added a second 8-ounce can of tomato sauce and a LOT more vegetables: besides the canned green beans, 1 can of corn, 4 slender fresh carrots chopped and cooked for 4 minutes, 1/2 yellow onion chopped. We used 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce. We added 1 cup shredded cheese to the 9 mashed potatoes and sprinkled some of it on top of the pie. It makes A LOT. Easily enough for 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was my first time making a shepherd's pie, so I picked this recipe since it was the easiest. It was a hit. I did cut the mashed potatoes but I think I could have still cut it more. I did also add condensed tomato soup & dry onion soup mix & a lil milk like I saw mentioned on other reviews. i didn't have the worceseterhire sauce & I don't think it was missed. I also left a spoonful or so of the onion soup mix & added it to the mashed potatoes when I made them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is our go-to shep pie recipe. It's a great base recipe. I always change up the veg depending on what I have and always add more Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of my favorites-I added 1 cup of shredded Cheddar during the last 10 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Andrea CA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have made this before and it was good, but this time I made a few changes. I added one can of corn instead of green beans. I added 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, 1 tablespoon minced onions 1 and 1/2 cups of mild cheddar cheese. I mixed 1 cup of the cheese with all ingredients and 1/2 cup of cheese with the mash potatoes. It came of GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Awesome! Just made a couple changes. I fried a little onion and celery with the ground beef, threw in a little garlic, and didn't have green beans so substituted a bag of frozen mixed veggies for the beans. Turned out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe, added corn layer also and onion soup mix packet to meat instead of the other seasonings as recommended by another. All 3 of my boys loved it (My husband being my 3rd boy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My husband had 4 servings the first time I made this (despite protests I used too many peas). I did make a few modifications. For the mashed potatoes, I used only 7 potatoes, and mashed with butter and cream. For the meat layer, I reduced meat to 1 lb, added 1 clove of garlic, increased worcestershire sauce to 2 tsp, used 1 cup of chopped green beans, 1 cup frozen corn, 1 cup frozen peas. I'd probably increase the seasonings even more next time, but I'm still thrilled with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this last night for my husband who is a very picky eater... He asked for seconds!!! even packed leftovers for lunch today. this is definitely a new favourite in my house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States