Mom's Seafood Pasta Salad for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I really liked this pasta salad. I get so tired of the Italian dressing pasta salads. I didn't give it five stars, because I made some changes based on my family's personal tastes. Here are the changes I made: ~ substituted imitation crab for the tuna ~ Western Dressing (aka "cow dressing") for the French dressing ~ No mayo...I added more thousand island dressing ~ added black olives and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Had twenty people over for a BBQ and this salad was a big hit. I was asked by several people for the recipe. Will make this for other events I cook for. Thanks for the recipe NOLLEEZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
A simple recipe to make and everyone at our thanksgiving loved it. I added crab meat and some spices to it but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great starter salad but some changes seemed to make it better. Too dry for 16 servings, so figured on only 8 so only used 1 lb of pasta. But once made, there was plenty for more! For the dressing, I increased mayo to 2 cups, then used 1/2 cup Italian Dressing (Bernstein) & 1/2 cup Catalina (you can play around with other dressings too) & I added 1.5 Tablespoons of Old Bay, as other's have done. Mixed all together and used 1/2 of the mix on the cooked pasta. Let chill for 3 hrs, then added the seafood & the rest of the dressing mix. I only used 1 can of Albacore Tuna (drained), 1 lb of fresh salad shrimp, and added a package of immatation crab (shredded). I also added 2-3 cups of shredded Mozzarella cheese. And it does get better each day, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe. People frequently ask me to make this salad. And it's fairly easy to make too. I normally use 1/2 lb of salad shrimp (from the frozen section) instead of the canned shrimp. Sometimes I'll add a little bit of Old Bay seasoning. One time I did not green onions so I substituted chopped sweet onion, and it did not turn out as well. Stick with the green onion. Also, when I mix the ingredients, I start by combining the mayo and the tuna at the bottom of the bowl so that I can mix it well. Then I add the pasta and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I make it the same way, but only mayo and not the dressings. Never thought of that. I will have to try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Everyone at the potluck I brought this to, was asking for some to take home with them. I added 16oz. of imitation crab meat. I could have done w/o the tuna, but that is just my personal preference. I also made a batch w/ fat free dressings and fat free miracle whip, perfect for my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang0331
Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Pretty good - the longer it stays in the fridge the better it tastes IMO.Something is missing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States