Mom's Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
We liked this pretty well. I did add onion to cook with the pork and a little pepper to the eggs. I wasn't crazy about the pepperoni, so I will just leave it out next time. I brushed with butter instead of egg. Thanks Rose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! My mother-in-law taught me how to make this, and it's always a hit. Either a snack, or a meal in itself. She would use mozzarella instead of provelone, and would use Italian Sausage as the base. She would also kick it up by adding parmesan or romano cheese to the sausage-cheese mixture. The more, the more decadant. Can also make with frozen spinach in lieu of sausage. Basically, a mini calzone and oh so yummy. Don't be afraid to add oregano. This freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My sister made this yesterday for Sunday brunch. She baked it first thing in the morning, then gave it 5-10 minutes in a hot oven just before serving.(Maybe it could be made the night before?) It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was a very big hit! I served it for brunch, and would definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great! Made some without cheese and some with because my picky eater doesn't like cheese. They were great after school snacks for teenagers! To make in a smaller batch, I used frozen rolls. Rolled each into a circle after thawing and filled, crimping edges to make individual pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I couldn't find frozen bread dough, so I used a refrigerated french bread, and unrolled it. Worked perfectly because it saved me the rolling process. I used one pound sausage, four eggs and a sprinkling of cheese. Baked in about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were a big hit with the guys for a type of breakfast sandwich at the football game. They travelled really well too which was great. I used refrigerated french bread cans which saved having to thaw and roll out the dough. I added sauteed red bell pepper which added great color and flavor. I used mozzarella, Italian three cheese blend, Italian sausage and a sprinkling of oregano. I didn't use the amount of cheese/eggs suggested and I had more then enough filling. I may turn the oven down and cook for longer next time; the outside was beginning to get dark brown when the inside was still doughy. (Any suggestions anyone??) Delicious - Thanks Jo Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I'd give it 2 stars but it actually tastes better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I took two of these to a breakfast and only a few pieces were left. Everyone seemed to love it. I think maybe a bit less bread, but otherwise quite good and very easy. This does taste good cold. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this! Instead of brushing with egg mixture I used garlic butter. Adds a lil flavor. It's great with sausage or without by adding veggies: onion, peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States