Mom's Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Man did this bring back memories. My dad used to make this for us when i was a little girl. This is one of the best comfort foods. We too ate it on toasted white bread and had plain chips and RC Cola. Thank you for making me take time for a wonderful memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
If my little one will eat it... it's a keeper. And this one is a keeper. I cut the mayo in half to satisy our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
sbr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I haven't had this since I was a kid when my mom used to make it. I don't remember her adding the corn syrup so I left that out and it wasn't missed as the relish added just enough sweetness. I also threw in some minced onion. Hubby was a happy boy, but the kids wouldn't go near it! Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
To make three smallish servings, I used 4 slices of bologna, around 3 TBS of mayo and around 2 TBS of dill relish (we prefer it to sweet). I ground the bologna up in a mini-chopper, and then added the rest and pulsed until it was blended. It only chilled for around 40 minutes, but yummy! We had something similar to this growing up. I call them Spammiches: You mash or grind up a can of Spam (we used Prem up in Canada), add relish and mayo or Miracle Whip and mix well. You pile/spread the mix on hamburger buns, top with a slice of cheese, and broil in the oven until the cheese is melted. SOOOOO excellent, I love them to this day. Thanks for the reminder, Diane! And your recipe is excellent too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My mom made something like this. She used ring bologna, sweet pickles, onions and green pepper all ground together and used miracle whip and mustard to mix. I LOVED this. Thanks for reminding me ...I gotta get me some of this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Made this so often when boys were young. We called it Bologna Junk..I ground up chunk bologna in a grinder and added dill pickles and sweet onion. put it all together with mayonnaise ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
very different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
We called it Gob! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was very tasty. Good choice for little kids. I usually fry bologna but this is another way to have lunch in a fun way. Great with crackers too! Thanks Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States