Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
i have tried this recipe and it's a huge hit with my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My husband and I were craving a good piece of rum cake after our vacation from the Cayman Islands and this tasted just like the delicious cakes we ate there. A definite keeper! I don't typically like the taste of rum but I love the flavor of it in this cake. It's always a hit a parties as well as many of our friends and family had never eaten rum cake before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used melted butter to replace the oil, doubled the rum in the glaze as well as letting it reduce for the entire hour cake baked, then poured it over cake as soon as it came out of oven. These were honest mistakes made by hurrying. The results were nonetheless amazing. Have made it several times to the ravest of reviews. Thank you someone's Mom. Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and it was a huge hit. The only thing I did differently was I let the cake cool in the pan while a made a batch of glaze. I poked some holes in the cake and poured half the glaze on it. After it soaked in, I turned the cake onto a pan, poked holes in the top and poured the rest of the glaze over it. At that point I decided to make another batch of glaze, poured half of it into the pan, reinserted the cake and poured the other half over the cake. This way the glaze soaked through the cake evenly. I will be making this again............soon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This disappeared when I made it for our Friday night dinner at our American Legion post. Even though I didn't try it (had already had enough sweets yesterday), it looked tasty and I'll be making it again. I used what was left of our Bacardi rum. Since I was making it to go with dinner, I used a 13 x 9 pan instead of the called-for Bundt pan, figuring it might go further, be easier to slice, too. And I substituted walnuts for the pecans. I had a little trouble getting the glaze to thicken, especially after adding the rum, even though I cooked it for the recommended 5 minutes. It didn't seem to be thick enough so I put it back on the heat for a couple minutes, then went ahead and spooned it over the cake, which I left in the pan, after poking holes in it with my metal cake tester. Also used half brown sugar and half white for the glaze. Will definitely be making this again so my husband & I can try it. Thanks, Laura, for sharing. -Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made this cake some time ago but just now getting around to making my review. This cake was delicious. My mom used to make it and when I came across this recipe I had to bake it for myself. I followed the easy steps to the tee with and exception on the glaze. I made the recommended amount of glaze however I did not pour all of it on my cake for fear that it would be soggy. I did pour about half on but I recommend pouring all of the glaze on the cake. I did have the rum taste (I used a dark Jamaican rum) but it was a very light. Next time I will use all of the glaze. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've been making this cake for years, having found the recipe from Barcardi's. Recently I've made this cake in canning jars and gave them for Christmas gifts. And you can change the liquor, cake mix, pudding and substitute juice for the water. I made lemon-lime vodka, pina coloda. Just use your imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have been making this for years. My family always loved it and it's super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swain, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe . My only change was to cut the glaze in half. Otherwise the cake can get too mushy especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I decided to use spiced rum, added coconut to the pecan topping and cinnamon to the glaze- the cake came out absolutely beautiful, fragrant and I sprinkled the fresh glaze with a little more coconut . My wife and mother in law took pictures before it went home as a gift to my MIL . This recipe is a definite repeat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States