Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I used the glaze recipe from this one, as I had already made a yellow cake from scratch. YUM, was this wonderful!!! I reduced the amount of glaze that I allowed to absorb into the cake, and with the glaze I reserved, I spooned onto individual servings of the cake. It was fantastic and I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumtaz Wangnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This cake is very moist and delicious. I substituted lemon cake mix for the yellow cake mix. For the glaze, I ran out of rum so, I used 1/4 of rum and 1/4 cup of orange juice, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I dont usally go through the trouble and time for reviews but everyone needs too try this one. I actually received the receipe from a girl at work whos grandma makes it all the time. I to wasnt sure about the glaze. That is why I looked it up here. Did I add to much water? It seemed to make to much and I was worried about it becoming soggy so I added only half. Now that I have the official receipe I will make it accordngly. Once again this is the best cake we have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I took this to an office party and it went so fast. I used 160 proof spiced rum. Created holiday spirit for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
I thought this was great! I made if for my friend for his birthday and he and his roomates loved it. I have made if for a few more people and everyone has only said wonderful things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I have long been in search for the perfect rum cake recipe, similar to the one my great aunt used to make when i was little. This one was it. It was so good and moist. I shared half with some neigbors, they called that very night to get the recipe. I will definately make this one again. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Not only is this recipe super easy and very good, it must be nearly foolproof! I had no tube pan, but it puffed up fine in my shallow cake pan and in cupcake tins. I coconut pudding instead of the vanilla; it makes a colada flavor. I couldn't even make the glaze, and wound up just adding some rum to a butter cream icing, and it's *still* terrific- and easy enough to be a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great taste, easy and loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This cake is so moist. I thought the cake tasted much better the second day than the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Excellent!! This cake is so moist and delicious. I baked it for my family and took the little bit that was left over to work and everyone raved about it. Thanks Laura!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States