Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I used the glaze recipe from this one, as I had already made a yellow cake from scratch. YUM, was this wonderful!!! I reduced the amount of glaze that I allowed to absorb into the cake, and with the glaze I reserved, I spooned onto individual servings of the cake. It was fantastic and I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumtaz Wangnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
I thought this was great! I made if for my friend for his birthday and he and his roomates loved it. I have made if for a few more people and everyone has only said wonderful things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This cake is very moist and delicious. I substituted lemon cake mix for the yellow cake mix. For the glaze, I ran out of rum so, I used 1/4 of rum and 1/4 cup of orange juice, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I dont usally go through the trouble and time for reviews but everyone needs too try this one. I actually received the receipe from a girl at work whos grandma makes it all the time. I to wasnt sure about the glaze. That is why I looked it up here. Did I add to much water? It seemed to make to much and I was worried about it becoming soggy so I added only half. Now that I have the official receipe I will make it accordngly. Once again this is the best cake we have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I took this to an office party and it went so fast. I used 160 proof spiced rum. Created holiday spirit for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I have long been in search for the perfect rum cake recipe, similar to the one my great aunt used to make when i was little. This one was it. It was so good and moist. I shared half with some neigbors, they called that very night to get the recipe. I will definately make this one again. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Not only is this recipe super easy and very good, it must be nearly foolproof! I had no tube pan, but it puffed up fine in my shallow cake pan and in cupcake tins. I coconut pudding instead of the vanilla; it makes a colada flavor. I couldn't even make the glaze, and wound up just adding some rum to a butter cream icing, and it's *still* terrific- and easy enough to be a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great taste, easy and loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This cake is so moist. I thought the cake tasted much better the second day than the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Excellent!! This cake is so moist and delicious. I baked it for my family and took the little bit that was left over to work and everyone raved about it. Thanks Laura!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States