Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Very easy to make and it's delicious! It is a hit whenever I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This recipe is wonderful!!!!! I made it once for Mother's Day and everyone that tasted it wanted thier own!!! I've been making them ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This was very delicious. Guests won't know it is a box cake! My family, including cousins from Italy, all loved it. It was very easy to make. The glaze had a wonder rum-caramel flavor. I wasn't sure about judging the "doneness" of the glaze. I also didn't want much of any alcohol in the glaze, so I added the rum early enough to burn off the alcohol. I'm not sure if the glaze was supposed to congeal as firmly as it did, but with the pecans, it had an exquisite flavor. The cake itself was a flavorful pound-cake-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
It was very easy to throw everything together. My boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
I thought this was great! I made if for my friend for his birthday and he and his roomates loved it. I have made if for a few more people and everyone has only said wonderful things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I have long been in search for the perfect rum cake recipe, similar to the one my great aunt used to make when i was little. This one was it. It was so good and moist. I shared half with some neigbors, they called that very night to get the recipe. I will definately make this one again. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Not only is this recipe super easy and very good, it must be nearly foolproof! I had no tube pan, but it puffed up fine in my shallow cake pan and in cupcake tins. I coconut pudding instead of the vanilla; it makes a colada flavor. I couldn't even make the glaze, and wound up just adding some rum to a butter cream icing, and it's *still* terrific- and easy enough to be a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I had trouble figuring out if the glaze was actually done--it seemed to take awhile. Then it seemed like there was too much so I only poured half on cake to prevent sogginess. The cake was very good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I dont usally go through the trouble and time for reviews but everyone needs too try this one. I actually received the receipe from a girl at work whos grandma makes it all the time. I to wasnt sure about the glaze. That is why I looked it up here. Did I add to much water? It seemed to make to much and I was worried about it becoming soggy so I added only half. Now that I have the official receipe I will make it accordngly. Once again this is the best cake we have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This cake is very moist and delicious. I substituted lemon cake mix for the yellow cake mix. For the glaze, I ran out of rum so, I used 1/4 of rum and 1/4 cup of orange juice, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States