Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I'm not going to rate this recipe from my own taste buds because apparently I don't like rum at all. My husband on the other hand does and he said it was extremely good! Finding out I wasn't a fan of rum was a big bummer because it looked wonderful! Thank you for giving my husband's tastebuds a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **coffeelady**
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe for sure! I still have a problem with the glaze. My husband's grandmother made this cake (same recipe) but her glaze hardened on the cake and it was DELICIOUS!! I can't get my glaze to harden. I follow the glaze directions to a T....any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Thanks for sharing this absolutely yummy, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I substituted yellow cake for golden vanilla and used white chocolate pudding mix... mmmmm... this was good. Only complaint I got was "more rum please!" Next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups or 2 cups and a little more glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for the first time and brought it to a New Year's Eve party. I didn't have any dark rum so I used the coconut rum I had on hand. It was absolutely fabulous! I brought Cool Whip to serve with it, but no one wanted it as it was great by itself! Thank you for sharing the recipe. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Come out beautifully. I have trouble draining the glaze into the cake (I use toothpick to poke holes, maybe I need to make larger holes). I wonder if I can use other liquors besides rum to make it taste more alcoholic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The cake itself is very easy. The glaze I had a little trouble with but I know what I did wrong and will definately correct it next time. I have a habit of experimenting with recipes until I get it perfect. My husband will not object to my experimenting with this one as he loved the cake itself. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This Cake was a HIT at my office Party. Thanks!!!! My staff loved it, I made two and they were gone in 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B M SMITH
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe was "the bomb"(meaning great). I followed it exactly to the "tee" and it came out perfect. It looks like a lot of people had trouble with the glaze however, it will come out great but you must dissolve the water and sugar first then add the butter. I split the sugar half brown, half regular and added a teaspoon of vanilla. This cake had a lot of compliments...whew lord, I have a dinner date tonight and I am baking one to take along. I am sure that I will get my man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great rum cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States