Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I've made it twice so far...it's been a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This cake is FABULOUS. I DO NOT agree with the other review suggestions that you should pour the glaze into the pan and reinsert the cake. This leaves the top scrumptious and the bottom plain and boring. It probably would be easier to leave the cake in the pan, POKE HOLES, and pour over the bottom of the cake, but I don't think this would leave the top very "glazy" or pretty for presentation's sake. I think it's best just to stick with the glaze application as indicated in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great cake! This cake is always a huge hit at parties and during the holidays. Very easy to make and goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good cake ... liked the heavy moist texture. My glaze worked well ... cooked it till it thickened to almost a paste, but, sure enough, the minute I added the rum, it was total liquid. I let it sit for about 5 minutes, which allowed it to thicken a little, and then poured very slowly over the cake. As it cooled, used a pastry brush several times to brush the glaze over the cake, and it was perfect. Left it covered in a very cold garage for 24 hours to "age", and then served for an adult pirate party ... while most of us aren't rum drinkers, we all enjoyed this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very Good Cake. I too messed up the glaze, but it still turned out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I just made this and wow is it good! I am looking forward to giving them out for Christmas. I made them in small pie tins so that they would be in about 2 serving amounts. I am thinking I might try it with a spice cake mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have been making almost the same exact recipe for years. It was given to me by my grandmother. The secret to this cake is the type of rum you use and the glaze. I only use Bacardi Anos rum. It gives the cake a much richer flavor. You should start cooking the glaze about 10 minutes before the cake is done. I combine 1 cup sugar, 1 stick of real butter, 1/4 cup rum & 1/4 cup water. Cook it for exactly 3 minutes. Pull the cake out of the oven, and pour the warm glaze right over the cake while it's still in the bundt pan. Make sure the glaze gets down in the middle of the cake near the hole. Use a knife if you have to loosen the cake up a bit in that area. Let the cake sit 30 minutes so the glaze makes it's way down. At 30 minutes flip it over on the plate. You will see that the glaze has covered the top and been aborbed. Once the cake sits awhile, the glaze will become slightly crunchy. This cake is suppose to be VERY dense and moist and I have never ONCE had anyone say it tastes like it comes from a box. I only use Dunkin Hines Butter Recipe yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was easy to make and ever so good! I used spiced rum. The cake was wonderfully moist and the leftovers froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
So good, but don't use Rum from the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
not really a review but can you tell me how pecans end up on bottom of cake mine were still on top are they supposed to float to bottom followed recipe to the t still on top of bundt cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States