Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I have used it for years. Always receive tons of compliments. I like to use flavored rum in it for a little extra kick. Pineapple is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
A simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
everyone enjoyed! thank you! easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The best rum cake I have ever made, the whole family loved it! I did have a problem with the brown sugar/ rum mixture hardening though. I added more rum and butter to make it a smooth consistency again. This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this last christmas and it was a Hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I got excellent compliments on this cake!! It came out so pretty too. I did do one thing different and used powdered sugar and 8 tbls of butter. I also added a little vanilla in the cake mix and cut the rum a little in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Not to detract from the person who posted because my family has always thought of this as 'my' rum cake recipe too, but I got this exact recipe from a friend years ago and she said she originally got in from a Bacardi bottle. It IS the best Rum Cake ever and we too have enjoyed it for years. I always sprinkle the top with a little powdered sugar letting it fall over sides like 'snow', then I put 4-6 cherries on top using toothpicks and it makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A good gift for a hostess or to take to a dinner! However, the recipe is incorrect as written. This is the Bacardi Rum Cake recipe word for word except they are using the wrong amount of butter which is why it's too thin. It's 8 TBS (1 stick) of butter in the glaze, not 3 TBS. Also, just pour the glaze over the cake while it is still in the pan and it will soak into the cake in 5 mins. Invert onto a cake plate and it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Born, raised and living in the US Virgin Islands, the rum cake is a big part of our culture. I was quite skeptical about this recipe. It just seemed too easy and simple. I made this yesterday and it is AWESOME! Tastes exactly like the ones I'm used too! I did add a half tsp of rum extract for extra flavor-wow! The glaze...well it was not a glaze. The sugar crystalized when I added the rum so it was thick and crumbly and the cake did not absorb most of it and still the cake was great. Next time I will add more butter and melt the sugar in it 1st and then add the water and lastly the rum. I think that should do it. This cake gets a 5 star from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States