Mom's Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
WOW what A cake! I used spiced rum and it added quite a bit of flavor! I used the spiced rum in the glaze as well and poked several hole so the glaze completely soaked in. I had served this at a holiday party and it was definitely the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very moist and good! I think I would add more rum in the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good base cake recipe. I was skeptical at first because the batter is very thick and I thought the cake would come out thick and dry, but it did not. The cake is very moist and light. And instead of 1/2 cup of spiced rum, I used 1 cup of spiced rum. The cake has more kick and you can smell the rum, and really taste the rum flavor. I placed sliced almonds in the bottom of the pan instead of pecans. The glaze is the weakest link of this recipe. It is too watery. Instead I used West Indian Cream Rum Liqueur (like Bailey's) and I added the sugar and butter, and sliced almonds to thicken up the glaze and then I let it cool. I it added after I took the cake out of the pan and let it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I have been making this during the holidays for 20 years both for gifts and as a family favorite. Yellow cake mix with pudding already in the mix works just as well as the two separate parts. Usually I use Capt Morgan's rum, but have substituted Bacardi silver or gold. Either way, it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomDoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious!!!! is all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Really good-followed directions exactly. Thought I did something wrong when I added the rum to the glaze because it got so thin but poured into bottome of bundt pan like others and put cake back in to soak. The top was strong but good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMATHENY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Loved this! Had several people tell me that it was one of the best cakes they had ever eaten. I left out the pecans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This cake was easy and delicious. I've been holding on to it for a couple of years but decided to channel my inner Julia and make it. I used a pineapple cake mix because every knows you can't go wrong with pineapple and rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Mistake that turned out good - I added the 3 tablespoons of butter to the batter mix by mistake, but went ahead and baked it and the cake turned out to be the moistest, yummiest cake ever. I'll make it again and do the same. Also, I made a chocolate cake for people who might not like rum cake and the two together were outstanding. I think, next time I make this I'll also include chocolate syrup along side as an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe to the T. The cake turned out very moist and was very pretty. I found the vanilla to be dominant flavor w/ a hint of rum. The glaze was very nice. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States